Review: The Paper and Hearts Society by Lucy Powrie

This book did not fit any of my challenge criteria.

Blurb:

Tabby Brown is tired of trying to fit in. She doesn’t want to go to parties – in fact, she would much rather snuggle up on the sofa with her favourite book.

It’s like she hasn’t found her people …

Then Tabby joins a club that promises to celebrate books. What could go wrong? EVERYTHING – especially when making new friends brings out an AWKWARD BUZZING feeling all over her body.

But Olivia, Cassie, Henry and Ed have something that makes Tabby come back. Maybe it’s the Austen-themed fancy-dress parties, or Ed’s fluffy cat Mrs Simpkins, or could it be Henry himself …

Can Tabby let her weird out AND live THE BEST BOOKISH LIFE POSSIBLE?

Image via Goodreads

What I liked:

If you’re stuck on what book to read, there are two great reasons to pick this one up. The first is because it’s such an engaging read. You’ll find yourself wondering why Jess and Tabby fell out, cheering Tabby on as she makes new friends, and it’s overall a wonderfully warm read.

The second reason is there are so many books mentioned here, you’ll be spoiled for choice on what to read next. I took a list of every book mentioned and there are a lot. There’s also far more I haven’t read than I have. I’ve now got a teaming TBR, more full to the brim than it was before, all thanks to Lucy.

The representation in this book is fantastic. There’s asexual and anxiety rep, and they’re both done really well. I can’t commend Lucy more for it. It also features five main characters with five very different personalities and interests, something a lot of teenagers may worry about when they look to their own friendship groups. Olivia gave me some serious Kristy Thomas vibes so she must be related to the BSC president in some way.

What I didn’t like:

I find it really difficult to find a downside. The only downside really is there might be some upsetting reading in Jess and Tabby’s interactions, but that’s really it.

Out of five:

Five. This could be for sure one of my books of the year.

2 thoughts on “Review: The Paper and Hearts Society by Lucy Powrie

Leave a comment and make me smile