Review: Love, Hate and Other Filters by Samira Ahmed

Challenge criteria: A book by an author of a different race to you.

Blurb:

A searing #OwnVoices coming-of-age debut in which an Indian-American Muslim teen confronts Islamophobia and a reality she can neither explain nor escape–perfect for fans of Angie Thomas, Jacqueline Woodson, and Adam Silvera.
Continue reading

Advertisements

Review: The Exact Opposite of Okay by Laura Stevens

Challenge criteria: A book about a problem facing society today

Blurb:

Izzy O’Neill is an aspiring comic, an impoverished orphan, and a Slut Extraordinaire. Or at least, that’s what the malicious website flying round the school says. Izzy can try all she wants to laugh it off – after all, her sex life, her terms – but when pictures emerge of her doing the dirty with a politician’s son, her life suddenly becomes the centre of a national scandal. Izzy’s never been ashamed of herself before, and she’s not going to start now. But keeping her head up will take everything she has…

Continue reading

Books on my Long Term TBR

This post is part of Top 10 Tuesdays run by Jana from That Artsy Reader Girl

One of these days, my TBR shelf is going to collapse on me and lead to my untimely death. What isn’t helping is that I keep ignoring my already voluminous TBR and buying brand new tomes to get through.

I have a long list of books that have been on my TBR shelf for years, but I still haven’t gotten to reading them yet. Maybe it’s time to pick something from there and get it ticked off once and for all before heading to Easons again.

Continue reading

Author Spotlight: Isabelle Broom

How do you make the switch from talking about books every day to writing them? Ask Isabelle Broom, who did just that. She previously worked as the Book Reviews Editor for heat Magazine in the UK, spending her days reading books and getting the reviews ready for the magazine’s weekly readers. In 2015, she set pen to paper herself to find out just what writing is like. Since then, four books have been released with Isabelle’s name on their (beautiful) covers.

Continue reading

Top 10 Tuesday: Book I Really Liked But Can’t Really Remember

This post is part of Top 10 Tuesdays, run by Jana from That Artsy Reader Girl.

I’ve read so many books that I’ve actually forgotten most of. I’m terrible for it. Sometimes I could read a book and forget it within a week, which is the main reason I’ve started a reading journal. Since I’ve kept record of my books I’ve been able to remember the stories, or been able to flick back through my notebook and recall.

Continue reading