Top 10 Tuesday: Books I’m No Longer Interested in Reading

This is part of Top 10 Tuesday, which is run by Jana from That Artsy Reader Girl.

Today’s Top 10 Tuesday calls for some books you’re not interested in reading. So, I’m going to team my answers up with another bookish meme – the Down The TBR Hole.

This is a challenge started by Lia from Lost in a Story. The aim is to cull ten books from your Goodreads TBR and free yourself up for the books you actually do want to read.

So, the rules are:

  • Go to your Goodreads TBR shelf.
  • List it in ascending order.
  • Pick the first five/ten books and decide whether you want them to stay or go.

Continue reading

Advertisements

Review: Love, Hate and Other Filters by Samira Ahmed

Challenge criteria: A book by an author of a different race to you.

Blurb:

A searing #OwnVoices coming-of-age debut in which an Indian-American Muslim teen confronts Islamophobia and a reality she can neither explain nor escape–perfect for fans of Angie Thomas, Jacqueline Woodson, and Adam Silvera.
Continue reading

Tag Thursday: The Reader Problems Tag

 You have 20,000 books in your TBR, how in the world do you decide what to read next?

I pretty much read by mood, so I just pick a book and that’s kind of it, that’s what I’ll be reading. Even if there were 20,000 of them (which it sometimes feels like)

2. You’re halfway through a book and you’re just not loving it. Do you put it down or are you committed?

Usually, no. If I’m not feeling it, I’ll put it down. Life is too short to read a bad book.

3. The end of the year is coming and you’re behind on your reading challenge, do you try to catch up? And if so, how?

Not really. I like to read without any pressure on me, and just enjoy it. But, if I did want to, I would pick up a couple of short books and get reading those. The Babysitters Club series is perfect for doing this.

5. Everyone and their mother loves a book that you do not. Who do you bond with over your shared feelings?

I have a little group of bookish friends on Twitter who I rant to on a very regular basis. It’s not always about books.

6. You’re reading a book in public and you’re about to start crying. How do you deal?

Well, you can’t really stop it, can you? Just let it all out.

7. The sequel to a book you loved just came out but you’ve forgotten a lot of what happens. Are you going to reread it?

If I have time, I will try to re-read. If not, I’ll scour the internet for reviews or read through its Goodreads entry.

8. You do not want anyone to borrow your books, how do you politely say no when someone asks?

I’ve usually got no problem with people buying books. But with the very special ones, I would just tell them it’s a very special book and one I would like to keep.

9. You have picked up and put down 5 books in the last month. How do you get over this reading slump?

Just stop for a bit. This happened to me a few days after Christmas 2017, so I took a break from reading until the New Year. It worked a charm.

10. There are so many books coming out that you are dying to read, how many do you end up buying?

It depends on the funds. And, there aren’t a lot of English books available in Germany so I’d have to Amazon it, which adds on to the costs.

11. After you purchase all of these books that you’re dying to read how long do they sit on your shelves before you get to them?

Ages. Forever. There are some on my TBR shelf that I have been meaning to read for at least three years.

Review: The Exact Opposite of Okay by Laura Stevens

Challenge criteria: A book about a problem facing society today

Blurb:

Izzy O’Neill is an aspiring comic, an impoverished orphan, and a Slut Extraordinaire. Or at least, that’s what the malicious website flying round the school says. Izzy can try all she wants to laugh it off – after all, her sex life, her terms – but when pictures emerge of her doing the dirty with a politician’s son, her life suddenly becomes the centre of a national scandal. Izzy’s never been ashamed of herself before, and she’s not going to start now. But keeping her head up will take everything she has…

Continue reading

Review: Things a Bright Girl Can Do by Sally Nicholls

This book did not fit any of my challenge criteria.

Blurb:

Through rallies and marches, in polite drawing rooms and freezing prison cells and the poverty-stricken slums of the East End, three courageous young women join the fight for the vote.

Evelyn is seventeen, and though she is rich and clever, she may never be allowed to follow her older brother to university. Enraged that she is expected to marry her childhood sweetheart rather than be educated, she joins the Suffragettes, and vows to pay the ultimate price for women’s freedom.

Continue reading