Top 10 Tuesday: Books I’m No Longer Interested in Reading

This is part of Top 10 Tuesday, which is run by Jana from That Artsy Reader Girl.

Today’s Top 10 Tuesday calls for some books you’re not interested in reading. So, I’m going to team my answers up with another bookish meme – the Down The TBR Hole.

This is a challenge started by Lia from Lost in a Story. The aim is to cull ten books from your Goodreads TBR and free yourself up for the books you actually do want to read.

So, the rules are:

  • Go to your Goodreads TBR shelf.
  • List it in ascending order.
  • Pick the first five/ten books and decide whether you want them to stay or go.

Continue reading

Advertisements

Review: Love, Hate and Other Filters by Samira Ahmed

Challenge criteria: A book by an author of a different race to you.

Blurb:

A searing #OwnVoices coming-of-age debut in which an Indian-American Muslim teen confronts Islamophobia and a reality she can neither explain nor escape–perfect for fans of Angie Thomas, Jacqueline Woodson, and Adam Silvera.
Continue reading

Review: The Exact Opposite of Okay by Laura Stevens

Challenge criteria: A book about a problem facing society today

Blurb:

Izzy O’Neill is an aspiring comic, an impoverished orphan, and a Slut Extraordinaire. Or at least, that’s what the malicious website flying round the school says. Izzy can try all she wants to laugh it off – after all, her sex life, her terms – but when pictures emerge of her doing the dirty with a politician’s son, her life suddenly becomes the centre of a national scandal. Izzy’s never been ashamed of herself before, and she’s not going to start now. But keeping her head up will take everything she has…

Continue reading

Review: Things a Bright Girl Can Do by Sally Nicholls

This book did not fit any of my challenge criteria.

Blurb:

Through rallies and marches, in polite drawing rooms and freezing prison cells and the poverty-stricken slums of the East End, three courageous young women join the fight for the vote.

Evelyn is seventeen, and though she is rich and clever, she may never be allowed to follow her older brother to university. Enraged that she is expected to marry her childhood sweetheart rather than be educated, she joins the Suffragettes, and vows to pay the ultimate price for women’s freedom.

Continue reading

Books on my Long Term TBR

This post is part of Top 10 Tuesdays run by Jana from That Artsy Reader Girl

One of these days, my TBR shelf is going to collapse on me and lead to my untimely death. What isn’t helping is that I keep ignoring my already voluminous TBR and buying brand new tomes to get through.

I have a long list of books that have been on my TBR shelf for years, but I still haven’t gotten to reading them yet. Maybe it’s time to pick something from there and get it ticked off once and for all before heading to Easons again.

Continue reading