Review: Love, Hate and Other Filters by Samira Ahmed

Challenge criteria: A book by an author of a different race to you.

Blurb:

A searing #OwnVoices coming-of-age debut in which an Indian-American Muslim teen confronts Islamophobia and a reality she can neither explain nor escape–perfect for fans of Angie Thomas, Jacqueline Woodson, and Adam Silvera.
Continue reading

Advertisements

Review: The Exact Opposite of Okay by Laura Stevens

Challenge criteria: A book about a problem facing society today

Blurb:

Izzy O’Neill is an aspiring comic, an impoverished orphan, and a Slut Extraordinaire. Or at least, that’s what the malicious website flying round the school says. Izzy can try all she wants to laugh it off – after all, her sex life, her terms – but when pictures emerge of her doing the dirty with a politician’s son, her life suddenly becomes the centre of a national scandal. Izzy’s never been ashamed of herself before, and she’s not going to start now. But keeping her head up will take everything she has…

Continue reading

Review: Things a Bright Girl Can Do by Sally Nicholls

This book did not fit any of my challenge criteria.

Blurb:

Through rallies and marches, in polite drawing rooms and freezing prison cells and the poverty-stricken slums of the East End, three courageous young women join the fight for the vote.

Evelyn is seventeen, and though she is rich and clever, she may never be allowed to follow her older brother to university. Enraged that she is expected to marry her childhood sweetheart rather than be educated, she joins the Suffragettes, and vows to pay the ultimate price for women’s freedom.

Continue reading

Review: The Good Mother by Sinead Moriarty

Challenge criteria: A book about death or grief

Blurb:

Kate has been through the fire with her three children … 

Having been left devastated and homeless after her husband’s affair and the break-up of their family, somehow she has pulled through. Though times are still tough, she’s beginning to see the start of a new life.
Continue reading