Tag Thursday: The Hamilton Book Tag

I’m as much of a musical nut as I am a bookworm. One of my favourite musicals of the last five years has got to be Hamilton. I discovered the soundtrack one day in work, played it through, and subsequently couldn’t stop singing. I saw the West End show in July 2018 with a friend, and spent the entire show crying. If musicals are your jam and you can go to see this at all, then go.

When I discovered the Hamilton Book Tag, which was created by booktuber Maureen, I knew I couldn’t say no to this. (Cheap shot, I know.)

Warning: some of the answers to this tag will be spoilers because that’s the nature of the question.

The Room Where It Happens: Book world you would put yourself in

Who didn’t answer the Harry Potter universe for this question? Really, what other answer is there?

The Schuyler Sisters: Underrated Female Character.

Not a lot of people have read I Wished For You by Amy Huberman (if we go by Goodreads), and they’re missing out. I loved Grace, and I found a lot of me in her. It’s a definite must read if you like Irish chick lit. And, if you think Amy’s social media is hilarious, it’s a great addition.

My Shot: A character that goes after what they want and doesn’t let anything stop them

There could not be a more determined character than Evelyn Hugo. Evelyn is an inspiration.

Stay Alive: A character you wish was still alive

The death in a book that most affected me was definitely Hans in The Book Thief by Markus Zusak. Hans was the closest to a parent Liesel had while in Himmelstraße, so losing him was a huge moment in her life.

Burn: The most heartbreaking end to a relationship you’ve ever read

It took me three attempts to read One Day by David Nicholls. I finally finished it through while on a family holiday in Lanzarote, and Emma’s death utterly ripped my heart out. It wasn’t just splashback from the pool that had the pages wet that day.

You’ll Be Back: Sassiest villain

Step forward Dolores Umbridge.

The Reynolds Pamphlet – A book with a twist that you didn’t see coming

I love a book where I can’t guess the twist, but that doesn’t seem to happen a lot for me. Until I read No Way Out by Cara Hunter. In the end, I just stopped trying to guess and read on blind. It really added to the enjoyment for me, too.

Non-stop: A series you marathoned

I spent three days one summer reading the entirety of the Princess Diaries series by Meg Cabot. It was such a lovely way to go back to my childhood, and I ate them up.

Satisfied: Favorite book with multiple POVs

I love multiple POV books, and the best one I’ve read recently was The Flatshare by Beth O’Leary. I loved Leon and Tiffy so much, and reading along with their story was such a warm and comforting way to spend the evening.

Who Lives, Who Dies, Who Tells Your Story: A book/series you feel like will be remembered throughout history

I feel like the Narnia series are so beloved and so classic, they’ll be told to our grandchildren and our grandchildren’s grandchildren.

Helpless: A relationship you were pulling for from the start

Mia Thermopolis and Michael Moscowitz. I am the biggest stan for those two.

Ten Duel Commandments: Favorite fight scene

I don’t read a lot of action books, so I actually don’t have a fight scene that springs to mind instantly. So, I’m always open to a book with a great fight scene that will keep me on the edge of my seat.

Say No To This: Guilty pleasure read

I don’t believe in guilty pleasure reads – every read is for pleasure. But if I did, the Babysitter’s Club series would definitely fit in here.

What Comes Next: A series you wish had more books

I am devastated that we’ve lost Louise Rennison, because a book from adult Georgia Nichols would be fantastic. There’s no way Georgia is sitting in an office wiling away the days filing.

Right Hand Man – Favorite BROTP

Is there any better bromance than Harry and Ron? They’re even brothers in law, you can’t get much better than that.

What’d I Miss: A book or series you were late to reading

I didn’t read the I Heart. . .series by Lindsey Kelk until last week. I’m kicking myself, because it really seems I’ve been missing out.

Leave a comment and make me smile