Review: Love, Hate and Other Filters by Samira Ahmed

Challenge criteria: A book by an author of a different race to you.

Blurb:

A searing #OwnVoices coming-of-age debut in which an Indian-American Muslim teen confronts Islamophobia and a reality she can neither explain nor escape–perfect for fans of Angie Thomas, Jacqueline Woodson, and Adam Silvera.
Continue reading

Advertisements

Review: Things a Bright Girl Can Do by Sally Nicholls

This book did not fit any of my challenge criteria.

Blurb:

Through rallies and marches, in polite drawing rooms and freezing prison cells and the poverty-stricken slums of the East End, three courageous young women join the fight for the vote.

Evelyn is seventeen, and though she is rich and clever, she may never be allowed to follow her older brother to university. Enraged that she is expected to marry her childhood sweetheart rather than be educated, she joins the Suffragettes, and vows to pay the ultimate price for women’s freedom.

Continue reading

Books on my Long Term TBR

This post is part of Top 10 Tuesdays run by Jana from That Artsy Reader Girl

One of these days, my TBR shelf is going to collapse on me and lead to my untimely death. What isn’t helping is that I keep ignoring my already voluminous TBR and buying brand new tomes to get through.

I have a long list of books that have been on my TBR shelf for years, but I still haven’t gotten to reading them yet. Maybe it’s time to pick something from there and get it ticked off once and for all before heading to Easons again.

Continue reading

Books I Was Too Cynical For

I am possibly one of the most cynical people I know. I don’t even know the reason why, but it seems throughout my life I have very little tolerance when it comes to romance. I am the only person I know who didn’t cry at the end of The Notebook. Maybe something happened somewhere in my life that turned me off the idea of a happy ever after. Or I was just born with a heart of impenetrable stone.

Continue reading

Review: Orbiting Jupiter by Gary D. Schmidt 

This book did not fit any of my challenge criteria.

Blurb: 

When Jack meets his new foster brother, he already knows three things about him:

Joseph almost killed a teacher.

He was incarcerated at a place called Stone Mountain.

He has a daughter. Her name is Jupiter. And he has never seen her.

Continue reading