Review: The Kissing Booth by Beth Reekles

Challenge criteria: A book you meant to read in 2017 but didn’t get to.

Blurb:

Meet Rochelle Evans: pretty, popular–and never been kissed. Meet Noah Flynn: badass, volatile–and a total player. And also Elle’s best friend’s older brother…

Continue reading

Advertisements

Review: Love, Hate and Other Filters by Samira Ahmed

Challenge criteria: A book by an author of a different race to you.

Blurb:

A searing #OwnVoices coming-of-age debut in which an Indian-American Muslim teen confronts Islamophobia and a reality she can neither explain nor escape–perfect for fans of Angie Thomas, Jacqueline Woodson, and Adam Silvera.
Continue reading

Review: Windfall by Jennifer E. Smith

Challenge criteria: A book published in 2017

(Disclaimer: I was sent a copy of this book by the publisher, My Kinda Book, in exchange for an honest review. This has not affected my opinion of the book, nor the outcome of this review.)

Blurb:

Alice doesn’t believe in luck—at least, not the good kind. But she does believe in love, and for some time now, she’s been pining for her best friend, Teddy. On his eighteenth birthday—just when it seems they might be on the brink of something—she buys him a lottery ticket on a lark. To their astonishment, he wins $140 million, and in an instant, everything changes.

Continue reading