Review: How Do You Like Me Now by Holly Bourne

Challenge criteria:

(Disclaimer: I was sent this book by the publisher in exchange for an honest review. This has in no way affected my opinion of the book, nor the outcome of the review.)

Blurb:

‘Turning thirty is like playing musical chairs. The music stops, and everyone just marries whoever they happen to be sitting on.’ 

Who the f*ck is Tori Bailey?

There’s no doubt that Tori is winning the game of life. A straight-talking, bestselling author, she’s inspired millions of women around the world with her self-help memoir. And she has the perfect relationship to boot.

But Tori Bailey has been living a lie.

Continue reading

Advertisements

Review: A Mother’s Goodbye by Kate Hewitt

This book did not fit any of my challenge criteria.

Disclaimer: I was sent this book as part of a tour run by Neverland Blog Tours. This has in no way affected my opinion of the book, nor the outcome of this review.

Blurb:

‘My arms ache with the need to reach and hold my precious child, and then to never let go. But I can’t. I know I can’t.’

Heather is devastated. There’s no way she can keep her baby. She can barely pay the bills as it is. But when she meets Grace, a wealthy, single career woman, who wants a baby more than anything, Heather believes she has found the perfect adoptive mother.

Continue reading

Review: The House Swap by Rebecca Fleet

This book did not fit any of my challenge criteria.

Blurb:

Be careful who you let in . . .

When Caroline and Francis receive an offer to house swap–from their city flat to a townhouse in a leafy, upscale London suburb–they jump at the chance for a week away from home, their son, and the tensions that have pushed their marriage to the brink.

Continue reading

Review: Almost Love by Louise O’ Neill

Challenge criteria: A book by a local author

Blurb:

If it doesn’t hurt, it’s not love: the gripping new novel from the bestselling author of Asking for It. Perfect for fans of Marian Keyes and Jodi Picoult.

When Sarah falls for Matthew, she falls hard.
Continue reading

Review: The Cows by Dawn O’Porter

Challenge criteria: A book with an anti-hero/villain

Blurb:

COW n. /ka?/

A piece of meat; born to breed; past its sell-by-date; one of the herd.

Women don’t have to fall into a stereotype.

The Cows is a powerful novel about three women. In all the noise of modern life, each needs to find their own voice.

Continue reading