Review: How Do You Like Me Now by Holly Bourne

Challenge criteria:

(Disclaimer: I was sent this book by the publisher in exchange for an honest review. This has in no way affected my opinion of the book, nor the outcome of the review.)

Blurb:

‘Turning thirty is like playing musical chairs. The music stops, and everyone just marries whoever they happen to be sitting on.’ 

Who the f*ck is Tori Bailey?

There’s no doubt that Tori is winning the game of life. A straight-talking, bestselling author, she’s inspired millions of women around the world with her self-help memoir. And she has the perfect relationship to boot.

But Tori Bailey has been living a lie.

Continue reading

Advertisements

Review: Almost Love by Louise O’ Neill

Challenge criteria: A book by a local author

Blurb:

If it doesn’t hurt, it’s not love: the gripping new novel from the bestselling author of Asking for It. Perfect for fans of Marian Keyes and Jodi Picoult.

When Sarah falls for Matthew, she falls hard.
Continue reading

Review: Me Before You by JoJo Moyes

Challenge criteria: A book made into a movie you’ve already seen

Blurb:

Louisa Clark is an ordinary young woman living an exceedingly ordinary life—steady boyfriend, close family—who has never been farther afield than their tiny village. She takes a badly needed job working for ex-Master of the Universe Will Traynor, who is wheelchair-bound after an accident. Will has always lived a huge life—big deals, extreme sports, worldwide travel—and now he’s pretty sure he cannot live the way he is.

Continue reading

Review: Things a Bright Girl Can Do by Sally Nicholls

This book did not fit any of my challenge criteria.

Blurb:

Through rallies and marches, in polite drawing rooms and freezing prison cells and the poverty-stricken slums of the East End, three courageous young women join the fight for the vote.

Evelyn is seventeen, and though she is rich and clever, she may never be allowed to follow her older brother to university. Enraged that she is expected to marry her childhood sweetheart rather than be educated, she joins the Suffragettes, and vows to pay the ultimate price for women’s freedom.

Continue reading

Top 10 Tuesday: Book I Really Liked But Can’t Really Remember

This post is part of Top 10 Tuesdays, run by Jana from That Artsy Reader Girl.

I’ve read so many books that I’ve actually forgotten most of. I’m terrible for it. Sometimes I could read a book and forget it within a week, which is the main reason I’ve started a reading journal. Since I’ve kept record of my books I’ve been able to remember the stories, or been able to flick back through my notebook and recall.

Continue reading