Ten to Talk Through with Catherine Walsh

I love discovering a debut author whose book I just can’t put down. I love it even more when I discover said author is Irish.

Catherine Walsh’s book One Night Only came onto my radar as it features one of my favourite social gatherings – Irish weddings. So, seeing it feature as a huge part of the book was such a pull factor.

To find out how I liked the book, you’ll have to check out my review, but right now you can check out my little chat with Catherine.

Continue reading

Review: The Rehearsals by Annette Christie

This book did not fit any of my challenge prompts.

Blurb:

Fans of Josie Silver and Rebecca Serle will delight in this romantic debut novel―that has a Groundhog Day twist―about a couple who call off their wedding after a disastrous rehearsal dinner, only to wake up the next morning trapped in a time loop. Together.

Two people. One wedding. No end in sight.

Continue reading

Ten to Talk Through with Annette Christie

Ever read a book and known instantly you want the author to be your best friend? That’s what happened when I picked up The Rehearsals by Annette Christie.

There was something about her writing style that made me desperate to have a chat with her. So, in the lead up to her publication date we sat down to talk the ways her characters mirror her, and the delicious sounding snacks she has when writing.

Continue reading

Favourite Reads of 2021 So Far

This post is part of Six for Sunday run by Steph from A Little But a Lot.

So far, my reading year has been a lot of ups and downs. I’ve had a couple of reading slumps, but luckily I’ve balanced that out with some great reads in the times I could pick up a book.

These are some of the absolute highlights from my reading year so far. Have you read any of these? If you want to hear more about them, come and check out my thoughts on my Book Tube Channel. Are you subscribed already?

Continue reading

Review: The Lock In by Phoebe Luckhurst

Challenge prompt: A locked-in mystery

Blurb:

Ellen and Alexa have survived hangovers, dodgy landlords and most of their twenties together.

But can they survive this?

One Saturday morning, while nursing The Hangover from Hell, a flooded kitchen leads best mates Ellen and Alexa, and hapless housemate Jack, into their attic to turn off the water supply.

But when Ben – Alexa’s date from the night before – walks in, the door slams, the handle breaks and all four of them are trapped.

Cue The Worst morning-after-the-night before.

Continue reading