Ten to Talk Through: Laura Price

They say to write what you know about, but Laura Price’s debut book is the best example of this I’ve seen in such a long time.

Single Bald Female follows Jessica, who is in her early 30s and seems to have it all, but whose life it thrown into turmoil when she is diagnosed with breast cancer. It’s heartbreaking and heartwarming in equal measures.

I sat with Laura to ask her how she has a little help in procrastinating, and the exciting setting of her next novel.

Continue reading

Ten to Talk Through with Dani Redd

January is the perfect time for reading a cosy novel set in some of the world’s chilliest places. If you’re thinking cold, you can’t get much colder than the Arctic Circle.

I read The Arctic Curry Club towards the end of 2021 and fell in love with it. I sat down with Dani Redd to discuss her super short writing window and how her PhD research led to her debut novel.

Continue reading

Ten to Talk Through with Catherine Walsh

I love discovering a debut author whose book I just can’t put down. I love it even more when I discover said author is Irish.

Catherine Walsh’s book One Night Only came onto my radar as it features one of my favourite social gatherings – Irish weddings. So, seeing it feature as a huge part of the book was such a pull factor.

To find out how I liked the book, you’ll have to check out my review, but right now you can check out my little chat with Catherine.

Continue reading

Review: The Rehearsals by Annette Christie

This book did not fit any of my challenge prompts.

Blurb:

Fans of Josie Silver and Rebecca Serle will delight in this romantic debut novel―that has a Groundhog Day twist―about a couple who call off their wedding after a disastrous rehearsal dinner, only to wake up the next morning trapped in a time loop. Together.

Two people. One wedding. No end in sight.

Continue reading

Ten to Talk Through with Annette Christie

Ever read a book and known instantly you want the author to be your best friend? That’s what happened when I picked up The Rehearsals by Annette Christie.

There was something about her writing style that made me desperate to have a chat with her. So, in the lead up to her publication date we sat down to talk the ways her characters mirror her, and the delicious sounding snacks she has when writing.

Continue reading