Tag Thursday: The School Day Book Tag

September in my house always went back to school. There’s simply no escaping it when both your parents are teachers.

So, September seems like the perfect month to take this school-themed tag created by the wonderful Victoria from What Victoria Read. It’s separated into questions about the time of day during school, and also some about the subjects you studied.

For this tag, I’ll only be answering questions about the subjects I sat for my Leaving Certificate, the end of school exams in Ireland.

Continue reading

Characters Whose Lives I Want

This post is part of Six for Sunday run by Steph from A Little But a Lot.

Have you ever read a book character and thought they’re living exactly the life you want? I’ve had that little pang of envy with a couple of characters.

For some it’s the place they live. Others, I’m envious of the job they have. Often it can be a combination of the two.

Do we have any in common? Or who would I find on your list? Let me know in the comments.

Continue reading

Review: The Dating Playbook by Farrah Rochon

This book did not fit any of my challenge prompts.

Blurb:

When a personal trainer agrees to fake date her client, all rules are out the window in this delightful romantic comedy from the USA Today bestselling author of The Boyfriend Project!

When it comes to personal training, Taylor Powell kicks serious butt. Unfortunately, her bills are piling up, rent is due, and the money situation is dire. Taylor needs more than the support of her new best friends, Samiah and London. She needs a miracle.

Continue reading

Review: Eight Perfect Hours by Lia Louis

This book did not fit any of my challenge prompts.

Blurb:

What if you fell in love
… and then he disappeared?

When Noelle and Sam’s lives collide one snowy evening, they spend eight perfect hours stuck side by side believing that they’ll never see each other again.

But soon their lives become entangled in ways they never expected – and it’s going to change everything…

Don’t miss the latest, hotly anticipated love story from Lia Louis! Perfect for fans of Beth O’Leary, Josie Silver and Cecelia Ahern.

Image via Netgalley
Continue reading

Cover Buys from 2021

This post is part of Six for Sunday run by Steph from A Little But a Lot.

I do try not to, but I can be known to judge a book by its cover. I’ve really tried to stop but sometimes I just get drawn in.

If you’re also a bit of a book cover enthusiast, you’ll perhaps be enamoured by these new and beautiful additions to my shelves.

Continue reading