Review: The Holiday Swap by Maggie Knox

This book did not fit any of my challenge prompts.

Blurb:

When chef Charlie Goodwin gets hit on the head on the L.A. set of her reality baking show, she loses a lot more than consciousness; she also loses her ability to taste and smell – both critical to her success as show judge. Meanwhile, Charlie’s identical twin, Cass, is frantically trying to hold her own life together back in their quaint mountain hometown while running the family’s bustling bakery and dealing with her ex, who won’t get the memo that they’re over.

With only days until Christmas, a desperate Charlie asks Cass to do something they haven’t done since they were kids: switch places. Looking for her own escape from reality, Cass agrees. But temporarily trading lives proves more complicated than they imagined, especially when rugged firefighter Jake Greenman and gorgeous Physician Assistant Miguel Rodriguez are thrown into the mix.

Will the twins’ identity swap be a recipe for disaster, or does it have all the right ingredients for getting their lives back on track?

Image via Netgalley

What I liked:

This book is the definition of cosy Christmas vibes. It’s set in small town USA, as well as amongst the bustle of LA. The contrast of these was really well written, and I loved the closeness of everyone in Starlight Peak.

Fans of The Great British Bake Off and The Princess Switch will really enjoy this. It has all the fun of a life swap, and the cosy vibes and baking goodness of baking shows. Be aware, don’t read this book on an empty stomach.

There are two lovely and sweet romances here. They’re both cinnamon roll characters, and I really loved the match for each twin.

What I didn’t like:

I would have loved to see some recipes in the back of this book. When a book is heavily influenced by food, I love having some recipes I can try out. Even having tips for a sourdough starter would make a great addition.

I think Cass and Charlie should have told Miguel and Jake who they really were a little earlier in the book. It would have changed the course of the book, of course, but I felt they should have known the score.

Out of five:

Four. This is a gorgeously cosy book, perfect for curling up on the couch in front of the fire.

4 thoughts on “Review: The Holiday Swap by Maggie Knox

  1. I read this back in October and loved it. It feels like a mix of The Great British Baking Show, The Parent Trap, and a Hallmark movie.

Leave a comment and make me smile

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s