Review: Swipe Right by Stephie Chapman

This book did not fit any of my challenge prompts.

Blurb:

This hilarious romantic comedy is When Harry Met Sally for the Tinder age. Perfect for fans of Mhairi MacFarlane, Laura Jane Williams and Sophie Ranald.

The love of your life might be in your phone… or he could be standing right in front of you.

When Fran meets Ollie, it’s eye-roll at first sight. Who does he think he is – with his Ray-Bans, piss-taking and artfully styled hair? But forced into working together at a trendy media content agency, they soon realise that they could be BFFs.

When Fran’s relationship crumbles and Ollie sets off on a round-the-world trip with his girlfriend, Fran decides to start an anonymous dating column. Detailing all the perils of dating online, Fran begins to wonder: maybe there aren’t plenty more fish in the sea?

But Fran’s about to learn that sometimes love can be where you least expect it… you just have to put down your phone.

Image via The Storygraph

What I liked:

I really enjoyed this book. and I feel like Viral Hive would be a really interesting place to work. I loved the camraderie between the team mates, and the work there seemed so interesting, too.

The romance between Fran and Ollie was wonderfully slow burning, and it gave me plenty of time to get to know them as separate people and as a couple. The little hints of frisson were so lovely to see, as well.

I listened to the audiobook of this, and I have to give the narrator five stars. Her accents for each of the characters, who came from places such as London and South Wales, were spot on.

What I didn’t like:

Some of the dates from Fran’s dating column were a little out there, but they were still entertaining to read.

There is a cheating plot in this book, which I didn’t love.

I didn’t always love Ollie and Fran’s interactions at early stages of the book. It felt he was rather overbearing on her, especially when she pitched her dating column. It may be intended to come across as concerning, but to me it read as too much.

Out of five:

Four. I would love to work at Viral Hive.

Leave a comment and make me smile

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s