Review: The Accidental Love Letter by Olivia Beirne

This book did not fit any of my challenge criteria.

Blurb:

The funny, uplifting second novel from Olivia Beirne for fans of Sophie Kinsella, Katie Marsh, Zoë Folbigg and Marian Keyes.

What would you do if you received a love letter that wasn’t meant for you?

Bea used to feel confident, outgoing and fun, but she’s not sure where that person went.


Over the last few months, she’s found herself becoming reclusive and withdrawn. And despite living with her two best friends, she’s never felt lonelier. To make things worse, she’s become so dependent on her daily routine, she’s started to slip out of everyone else’s.

But when a mysterious battered envelope covered in stars lands on her doormat, Bea wonders if she could find the courage to open it.

It isn’t addressed to her, but it could be… if you squinted…


Image via Goodreads

What I liked:

Bea is such a type A character. I’m often caught between feeling sorry for her and having a lot of sympathy, and her getting on my last nerves one time too many. There was probably too many lists for me! I loved seeing her thrown out of her comfort zone on several occasions.

I loved Joy, and I really felt my heart break in her storyline. Elder people feeling rather lonely is all too common in the world at the moment.

What I didn’t like:

I didn’t particularly like Bea’s friends. I particularly disliked Priya, who I felt was a bit of a fair weather friend to Bea. I warmed to Emma a little more, but she did also irritate me at times.

With the sheer volume of lists, and Bea’s slight Monica Geller tendencies, it took me a little while to get into this. After a couple of chapters I found myself blending with it a little better.

Out of five:

Four. A fantastic sophomore novel. I can’t wait to see where Olivia goes next, but with two such strong books in her arsenal already I have high hopes.

2 thoughts on “Review: The Accidental Love Letter by Olivia Beirne

Leave a comment and make me smile

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s