Review: The Little Shop of Happy Ever After by Jenny Colgan

Challenge criteria: A book that involves a bookshop/library

Blurb:

Given a back-room computer job when the beloved Birmingham library she works in turns into a downsized retail complex, Nina misses her old role terribly – dealing with people, greeting her regulars, making sure everyone gets the right books for their needs. Then a new business nobody else wants catches her eye: owning a tiny little bookshop bus up in the Scottish highlands.

No computers. Shortages. Out all hours in the freezing cold; driving with a tiny stock of books… not to mention how the little community is going to take to her, particularly when she stalls the bus on a level crossing…

Image via Goodreads

What I liked:

This book is an absolutely lovely read. It’s very sweet, and perfect for a rainy day with blankets, a cosy chair, and some tea.

Nina is one of the most relatable characters I’ve met in a very long time. I, too, have hundreds of books lying on the floor of my bedroom, strewn across my dressing tables, hidden on my parent’s coffee table. They’re everywhere. It’s something a lot of readers will relate to instantly. Non readers will find more of a mirror in Surinder.

If you’re struggling for something to read, this book will be a huge help. It name drops tonnes of great options for your next read. I even found something to pick up.

What I didn’t like:

There were a couple of slips and inaccuracies in the book that I didn’t completely love and did take away from my enjoyment as I read.

I was not at all impressed that Nina was refused renting the van because she was a woman. My feminist alarm was blaring for days after that.

Out of five:

Three and a half. A lovely story which will delight book lovers, but there were a couple of things I wasn’t too into.

One thought on “Review: The Little Shop of Happy Ever After by Jenny Colgan

Leave a comment and make me smile