Dream Bookish Family

While my own family are pretty awesome, I can’t lie and say there aren’t some fictional people I’d slot into their place. If I had to start over, this is who I’d like to have in my family.

Mother

Molly Weasley from Harry Potter

Molly is the ultimate matriarch. She’s incredibly caring for not just her own children, but also for Harry and Hermoine. I don’t think you’d want to face against Molly Weasley if you’ve come home after curfew or haven’t tidied your room, but the Christmas jumpers make it all worth it.

Father

Dr Covey from the Lara Jean trilogy

It can’t be easy to raise three girls single handed, but Dr Covey did an absolutely stellar job. I feel like if he can tackle those three, then he should be well equipped to raise me well too.

Brother

Mike from The Rest of Us Just Live Here

Mike is the best brother I’ve seen in any book. He’s so supportive and protective of both his elder sister Melinda and their younger sister Meredith (or Merdbreath). A brother who’ll come with you to a concert when he has no interest in who’s playing, but it’s your favourite band, is a good guy.

IMG_20170809_112649_432

Myself and my actual brother when we were slightly younger than we are now.

Sister

Mia Thermopolis from the Princess Diaries series

I think I’d like to be the younger sister here. All the pomp and the title, and the straight access to Fat Louie, but without the responsibility of being next in line to a throne. Also, Helen Thermopolis is a pretty awesome mother to have.

Grandmother

Mary Poppins from Mary Poppins

Ok, so in the book she’s not quite as friendly as in the Disney movie. But there’s no denying that Mary Poppins, in either guise, would really be the best fictional grandmother. What could be best than a grandma who could have magical powers – it could count for Hogwarts bloodline purposes.

Grandfather

Hans Hubermann from The Book Thief

Hans is a great foster father to Liesel, a faithful protector of Max, and was ever kind and gentle to his own children Hans Jr and Trudy, despite a strained relationship. But the one thing that cemented his place here is that, like my actual grandfather, Hans is an accordion player. I can’t think of anyone else I’d want as my fictional grandfather.

Who would be in your fictional family Let me know in the comments!

6 thoughts on “Dream Bookish Family

Leave a comment and make me smile

