Review: The Princess Diaries by Meg Cabot

Challenge criteria: A book you loved as a child.

Blurb:

She’s just a New York City girl living with her artist mom…

NEWS FLASH: Dad is prince of Genovia. (So that’s why a limo meets her at the airport!)

DOWNER: Dad can’t have any more kids. (So there’s no heir to the throne.)

SHOCK OF THE CENTURY: Like it or not, Mia Thermopolis is prime princess material.

THE WORST PART: Mia must take princess lessons from her dreaded grandmère, the dowager princess of Genovia, who thinks Mia has a thing or two to learn before she steps up to the throne.

Well, her father can lecture her until he’s royal–blue in the face about her princessly duty—no way is she moving to Genovia and leaving Manhattan behind.

But what’s a girl to do when her name is PRINCESS AMELIA MIGNONETTE GRIMALDI THERMOPOLIS RENALDO?

Image via Goodreads

Image via Goodreads

What I liked: 

I first read this book when I was 14. The age Mia is in the books. I am now no longer 14, so there was the chance I wouldn’t be as enamoured by this book as I had been back then. Nothing to worry about. I still absolutely loved this book.

I fell in love with Tina once again. Lily is a great best friend, don’t get me wrong, but if you’ve fallen out with her, Tina is a pretty awesome second in command. It’s always great to have a friend who understands pretty much what you’re going through.

When I previously found Grandmére a bit much, she was now absolutely hilarious. I also loved Mr G and how caring he was for Mia, and how he tried not to let the small fact that he was dating her mother come between the professional relationship between he and Mia.

What I didn’t like:

I rediscovered how much contempt I had for Josh Richter, so there’s that.

Out of five?:

Five. If I’m going to regress to my youth, I’m definitely doing it right. I can’t wait to get the rest of the series re-read too.

Leave a comment and make me smile

