Tag Thursday: The Mid Year Freakout Book Tag

Though it may be hard to believe, the year is more halfway through. Which means that it’s time for a look back at how this year’s reading is going. As one of my reading challenges for the year has already been ticked off, I’m going to hope it’s going well

The Best Book of the Year So Far:

I’ve given out a smattering of five stars so far this year, bit top of the pile has got to be The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas. It’s by far one of the best books I’ve read in a long, long time. No words I could say will do it justice, only that you need to read this book.

The Best Sequel of the Year So Far:
I came to the Jenny Han trilogy a little (read: a good bit) later than everyone else, but I really enjoyed PS I Still Love You. I’d even wager it as my favourite book of that trilogy, as I wasn’t a maaaaaaassive fan of Always and Forever Lara Jean. 

A New Release You Haven’t Read Yet But Want To:

I was given a copy of The Cows by Dawn O Porter for my birthday. I absolutely loved her two previous books, and I cannot wait to get my hands around this one.

Most Anticipated Release for Autumn/Winter: 

Get me It Only Happens in the Movies by Holly Bourne and get me it now. Also, a hugely popular Facebook group is being immortalised in book form, so I can’t wait for the OMGWACA book to come (do you understand the anacronym? Let me know!)

Your Biggest Disappointment of the Year So Far:

I thought I would really adore The Sun is Also a Star by Nicola Yoon, solely based on the back page blurb. Alas, it wasn’t to be. I almost fired the book out of the window several times.

Your Biggest Surprise of the Year So Far:

How much I would disagree with/dislike The Princess Diaries series as I got older. I actually have a post in mind with all my thoughts.

Your New Favourite Author:

Angie Thomas is a treasure and we have done nothing to deserve her.

Your Newest Favourite Character:

Lara Jean from the Lara Jean trilogy. She’s very much like me – the Mam of the group, who just likes to cook and bake cookies and make sure everyone in the group still has all their limbs.

Your Newest Fictional Crush:

I think I have to skip this one. None of the guysin any book I read this year were particularly eye catching.

A Book That Has Made You Cry

Because I have a heart of stone, I don’t try easily at books. So if I cry, you know it’s a bad one. Nothing I read so far this year has given such a response.

A Book That Has Made You Happy

Hot Mess by Lucy Vine. Ok maybe it didn’t make me Cheshire Cat from happy, but it’s hilarious and I got several dirty looks as I read it and chuckled away to myself on my way to work.

The Most Beautiful Book of the Year So Far

Wing Jones by Katherine Webber. As well as having an incredible story, the physical book is by far one of the most beautiful on my a shelf. Gradiant sprayed edges? Yes please!

Some Books You Need to Read Before 2017 Ends

The Cows by Dawn O Porter, It Only Happens in the Movies by Holly Bourne, and When Dimple met Rishi by Sandhya Menon.

One thought on “Tag Thursday: The Mid Year Freakout Book Tag

Leave a comment and make me smile

