Review: Hot Mess by Lucy Vine

Challenge criteria: A book about an interesting woman

Blurb:

Hot Mess [n.] – someone attractive, who is often in disarray.

Have you ever shown up to Sunday brunch still smelling of Saturday night?
Chosen bed, Netflix and pizza over human contact?
Stayed in your mould-ridden flat because it’s cheap?

Meet your spirit animal, Ellie Knight.
Her life isn’t turning out exactly as she planned.
She hates her job, her friends are coupling up and settling down, and her flatmates are just plain weird.

Some people might say she’s a hot mess but who really has their sh*t together anyway? For fans of Fleabag and Girls, this is a fresh and funny coming-of-age story with a single-girl heroine that will speak to millennials everywhere.

Everyone is talking about Hot Mess – the hilarious laugh-out-loud Bridget Jones for a new generation.

34815016

Image via Goodreads

What I liked:

I was unaware I’d commissioned Lucy to write my biography. This book seemed like such a mirror of my own life, it was impossible for me not to like it.

I adored Ellie’s father’s “novel”. His “stories” were “really funny” and “well written”. (I haven’t lost my mind. That’s how they’re punctuated.)

The best thing though was the humour. This book is bloody hilarious, and I found myself getting some pretty strange looks on the commute to work each morning.

What I didn’t like:

One thing that didn’t really sit well was how one family of characters was written. I thought Jen was a horrible person, really self centred and unsupportive. Milly, her six-year-old, was written about ten years older than she actually was. How many people that age do you know who religiously follow The OC, or who have social media?

Out of five?

Four. By far the funniest book I’ve read this year.

One thought on “Review: Hot Mess by Lucy Vine

Leave a comment and make me smile

