Review: Under Rose Tinted Skies by Louise Gornall

Challenge criteria: A book nominated for an award in 2017.

Blurb:

Agoraphobia confines Norah to the house she shares with her mother.
For her, the outside is sky glimpsed through glass, or a gauntlet to run between home and car.

But a chance encounter on the doorstep changes everything: Luke, her new neighbour. Norah is determined to be the girl she thinks Luke deserves: a ‘normal’ girl, her skies unfiltered by the lens of mental illness. Instead, her love and bravery opens a window to unexpected truths …

An important and uplifting debut from a British author, which tackles mental health issues such as agoraphobia and OCD.

Image via Goodreads

What I liked:

I loved the incredibly descriptive writing. Louise has a fantastic way of words, and it really helped to paint the scene as you’re reading it. She made a whole, exciting world just from the interior of Norah’s house.

This book is a great, and very realistic, portrayal of OCD, agoraphobia, and hypochondria. I felt like reaching in and giving Norah a hug and telling her everything would be OK.

What I didn’t like:

I felt like the start was a little slow, and took a while to kick into gear.

There were a few parts of this story that didn’t sit well with me. If Norah has so much to deal with, why leave her alone for a week while her mother recuperates? I found that very hard to believe.

I didn’t much like the Helping Hands organisation as well, and if they were a real organisation I’d be sure to have them looked into.

One trope I don’t like is the “girl meets boys-boy saves girl” trope, and it did pop up here against my better wishes. Overall, I wasn’t a big fan of Luke.

Out of five: 

Three and a half. I loved the writing style, and my heart really ached for Norah. But other aspects of this docked it slightly.

One thought on “Review: Under Rose Tinted Skies by Louise Gornall

  1. I’m so tired of seeing the “girl meets boys-boy saves girl” trope. I’ve also seen so many positive reviews for this book so it was refreshing to see a review that is more in the middle.

Leave a comment and make me smile

