Review: My Husband’s Wife by Jane Corry

Challenge criteriaA book you were excited to buy or borrow but you haven’t read yet.

Blurb:

It’s the perfect love story.

Lily meets Ed at a party, and on their second date, he proposes. She’s a lawyer, he’s an up-and-coming artist. They own a small but beautiful flat in London and mix with all the right people.

But Lily has a secret. Something from her past, that is soon to collide with her present. And she thinks her new husband is hiding something too…

The vows they made will soon be tested to the very limits.

‘Till death us do part…’

Image via Goodreads

Image via Goodreads

What I liked:

I thought this book started out really strong. The story of Carla and Lily was quite cute.

This book is a split narrative, but it flows well and there’s never a moment of confusion.

What I didn’t like:

I felt this book was incredibly predictable. It was plot twist after plot twist, and after a few chapters I had come to expect everything, what was meant to completely blindside and shock me, I had seen coming from miles off.

I would have much rathered if Carla’s chapters were also first person narrative, so we could have heard more of her side.

There were no characters I warmed to at all. Everyone of them had a hidden agenda, or a sly story. I couldn’t condone the actions of one single person in this book. Some characters even made me feel incredibly uneasy, and as the story furthered I found myself falling further out of love with this book.

Out of five:

Two. A good start, but overall I wasn’t impressed. 

One thought on “Review: My Husband’s Wife by Jane Corry

Leave a comment and make me smile

