Books that need a sequel

This post comes as part of my role as a #BroodingYAHero Street Team member, the #BroodyBFFs.

While I’m a big fan of standalones, one thing I don’t always like is that you’re often left wanting a lot more than the story has given you. When you’ve travelled so far already with these characters, it can be annoying to leave them at what’s essentially a cliff hanger.

There are some books I’m ok with leaving as they are, but with others, I definitely need some answers.

WARNING: spoilers ahead.

Candy by Kevin Brooks

What I need to know: What happened with Candy after she escaped Iggy’s clutches? Like, does she still do drugs or is she working in a bank with 2.4 kids, a labrador and a people carrier? Did Gina and Mike marry? Does Joe still have that ganglion?

The Handmaid’s Tale by Margaret Attwood

What I need to know: Have we destroyed the patriarchy or no?

Room by Emma Donoghue

What I need to know: Jack is five so pretty soon education is going to be mandatory. Would he be homeschooled? Would Ma teach him, or one of his grandparents? Would he center mainstream education?

Attachments by Rainbow Rowell

What I need to know: Has Lincoln and Beth’s relationship been able to get over the fact he was pretty much cyber stalking her?

2 thoughts on “Books that need a sequel

  1. Man, I need to do this challenge before time runs away from me 😀 yeah, I totally needed to find out about Gilead as well, but we know it’s changed cause of the “outside of the story” epilogue, I guess? But it is dissatisfying, because we never do get to find out what happened to our protagonist, which just made me sad when I was reading it.

  2. I definitely agree with this list. The Names They Gave Us by Emery Lord is another book that comes to mind.
    I’m new to blogging and book reviewing, and I was wondering if you had any tips for newbie bloggers and book reviewers.
    If you have the time, please check out my blog @breenysbooks. I’d love any feedback. Have a wonderful day.

Leave a comment and make me smile

