Review: Under a Tuscan Sky by Karen Aldous

This book did not fit any of my challenge criteria.

Disclaimer: I was given a copy of this book by the publishers in exchange for an honest review. This has in no way affected my opinion of this book, nor the outcome of this review.

Blurb: 

A summer she’ll never forget…

When Olivia Montague’s grandmother passes away, she decides it’s finally time to make some changes in her own life. So she breaks up with her ‘going nowhere’ boyfriend and embarks on a journey to her Nonna’s home in Tuscany.

Until now, Olivia has always believed that she’s incapable of love, after being abandoned by her parents as a baby. But with each day spent at the gorgeous villa nestled in the rolling Italian hills, she feels her heart begin to flutter…

And when handsome antiques dealer Hugh St. James arrives on the scene, she realises things might be about to change forever!

What I liked:
They say not to judge a a book by its cover, but you can’t help but swoon at the gorgeous cover to this.

What’s equally as stunning is the images of the southern Italian countryside. I’ve long had aspirations to go to Italy and this has only cemented it for me really. I want nothing more than to go and stand at the shore of Lake Garda.

I found a kindred spirit in Olivia, who likes to be organised and is a big lover of lists. She was a little agitated and seems to have some issues from her childhood catch up with her even now, and I loved how authentic she was as a character.

What I didn’t like:

Alberto seems like a PUA. I found him to be incredibly controlling, manipulative, and possessive, right from the moment we meet him early in the book. I’m not a fan of his, and I was not rooting for he and Olivia to get together.

I thought some of the dialogue is a little flowery, and not the way people would naturally speak. I wasn’t either a big fan of the letters Olivia’s mother wrote to her parents – they felt a little formal to be going to parents, especially ones who seemed as strict as these.

There were just a little too many potential romances for me. I have to agree with Chiara in this book, Olivia reads a little more like a 16 year old than a 40-something.

Out of five:

Three and a half. I felt like the first third of this book dragged a little, but the action really picked up just before halfway. This book is perfect for reading while on your own Mediterranean break.

One thought on “Review: Under a Tuscan Sky by Karen Aldous

Leave a comment and make me smile

