Tag Thursday: Things Cats Do Book Tag

Last year, June 15th was a pretty dark day as we said goodbye to the true pet of the family – my cat Lucky. Six months later, her mother Alfie followed.

Coincidentally, Tag Thursday falls on the date one year on. I found the Things Cats Do tag on Kate’s blog, and it seems like the perfect fit for this month.

So, June’s Tag Thursday is tinged with a little bit of sadness. This tag is dedicated to my three little best friends, two of whom I’ve said goodbye to in the last year, and a one year memorial to my little pal.

image-0a7f32d06414ff3ffe8262edd2373b9f8e44eaf3d464e70f88ffb2643322b5a5-v-1

PURR- AS CATS DO THIS WHEN THEY’RE HAPPY OR RELAXED, WHAT IS THE BOOK THAT MAKES YOU HAPPIEST OR RELAXED?

There are quite a few books that make me happy, but the one that comes straight to mind is Isabelle Broom’s A Year and a DayIt gives such a strong wanderlust vibe, and it’s a very cute romance story featuring three very different couples.

SLEEP- WHAT IS A BOOK THAT PUT YOU TO SLEEP OR WAS JUST BORING?

See the thing is, if I find a book I’m really not enjoying I tend to shelf it pretty quickly. I can’t honestly say what the last book that sent me to sleep was.

TWITCH WHILE DREAMING- HAVE YOU EVER DREAMT OF A BOOK YOU READ?

I wish I could say yes, but I haven’t.

SEEMS TO PLAY NICE…UNTIL THE CLAWS ARE OUT- WHICH BOOK HAD THE BIGGEST PLOT TWIST(S)?

I was in no way prepared for the plot twist in The Art of Being Normal by Lisa Williamson. I remember reading it while sat on my bed, and actually shouting so loud my housemate came to check if I was ok. I was fine, my mind had just been well and truly blown.

CUDDLES- WHICH BOOK CHARACTER WOULD YOU GIVE A HUG TO?

I read Needlework by Deirdre Sullivan and spent the entire book wanting to give Cess a hug and tell her everything would be ok. She had a tough time throughout her story, and it never seemed like anything was going to improve for her.

CATNIP- WHAT’S A BOOK THAT MADE YOU HAVE WARM AND FUZZY FEELS?

I’ve loved each of Isabelle Broom’s books for the amount of wanderlust they give, but My Map of You definitely perks me up. You can’t be sad while reading a book that almost transports you to the sandy beaches of Zakynthos, can you?

CAT BREEDS- WHAT ARE YOUR FAVOURITE BOOKS?

Thank goodness you get to name a couple of books here, because I would honestly struggle to just name one. In no order, my top three books of all time are:

  • The Book Thief by Markus Zusak
  • Matilda by Roald Dahl
  • Always the Bridesmaid by Sarah Webb

GETTING THE CAT- HOW DID YOU FIND YOUR FAVOURITE BOOK(S).

The Book Thief: My friend loaned me it when we were in Sixth Year, like I needed the distraction from my Leaving Cert. I devoured it, and ended up staying up until almost 2am finishing it one evening.

Matilda: It was part of a Roald Dahl three book set I had when I was younger, and it’s the first book I ever finished by myself. Apt, isn’t it?

Always the Bridesmaid: I admit, I did not source this book by wholesome means. It was my Mam’s, and I may have stolen it from her. It was the first adult book I ever read, at the grand old age of 11.

THE VET’S OFFICE- YOUR LEAST FAVOURITE BOOK:

I’ve got some books I didn’t like, but I don’t think there’s one book I could single out as the book I hated most of all.

The new addition, Ernie. He has separation anxiety.

BEING IN PLACES THEY SHOULDN’T- LEAST FAVOURITE CLICHÉ:

One cliché I really hate is insta-love, and it was almost rife in The Sun is Also a Star.

THE GOOD OLD CARDBOARD BOX- MOST UNDERRATED BOOK SERIES.

I had to really sit and think about this one for a while, cos it really took me a while to think of an underrated series. In the end, my vote goes to the Gone series by Michael Grant. This series, with six books, is a look at a world where everyone over the age of 15 has disappeared and teenagers are left behind to function alone.

5 thoughts on “Tag Thursday: Things Cats Do Book Tag

  1. This is such a fun idea for a book tag, and I definitely agree that the Art of Being Normal has a jaw-dropping plot twist! I’m very sorry for the loss of your cats though. Ernie has such a sweet face, I love him already 😍😍😍
    Amy x

Leave a comment and make me smile

