Favourite LGBT books

This post comes as part of my role as a #BroodingYAHero Street Team member, the #BroodyBFFs.

LGTB issues are incredibly important, not just to me but in the world as a whole. It’s important, so, that YA fiction (and general fiction) represent LGBT characters and issues properly.

For this post, I’ll be looking across the entire LGBTQIA+ spectrum. What’s listed here is a very small selection of LGBTQIA, and if I’m missing any please do let me know in the comment section.

Truth or Dare by Non Pratt

Character is asexual

Radio Silence by Alice Osman

Character is asexual

The Art of Being Normal by Lisa Williamson

Characters are transgender

If I Was Your Girl by Meredith Russo

Character is transgender

History Is All You Left Me by Adam Silvera 

Characters are gay

Wing Jones by Katherine Webber

Character is lesbian

You Know Me Well by David Levithan and Nina LaCour

Characters are gay/lesbian

What are your favourite LGBTQIA+ books?

6 thoughts on “Favourite LGBT books

  1. I know I would be interested to read more about asexual characters. Maybe I should check out Radio Silence 🙂
    I’ve received (and will soon start) this ARC, it’s called Straight Expectations, and it’s non-fiction (so, a true) story about a mother who raised two non-standard sexual orientation kids (haven’t read it yet so I won’t say more cause I might mislead). Super interested in the contents, as I bet the challenge of overcoming your expectations for your kid as a parent is quite a big thing. I am very curious about the challenges they faced.

  2. I absolutely love Wing Jones, Radio Silence and The Art of Being Normal Yet- they’re truly important books that are also enjoyable to read.
    Have you read Simon Vs the Homosapiens Agenda/The Upside of Unrequited by Becky Albertalli? They’re two other LGBTQIA books not on your list that I absolutely love, and I’d really recommend them if you’ve not read them 😊
    So excited to read Truth or Dare soon too ❤
    Amy x

Leave a comment and make me smile

