Review: After the Fire by Will Hill

Challenge criteria: A book with a red spine.

(Disclaimer: I was sent a copy of this book by the publisher, Usborne, in exchange for an honest review. This has in no way affected my opinion of the book, nor the outcome of this review.)

Blurb:

Deep in the Texas desert, Moonbeam lives with her Brothers and Sisters. They’re safe, protected by the Fence and Father John.

Because Father John knows what’s right and what’s wrong. But then Nate arrives from Outside, stirring doubt…and suddenly Moonbeam’s world is on fire. But what happens after? What happens when you lose everything you’ve ever known?

Powerful, gripping, and beautifully told, bestselling author Will Hill’s After the Fire is a novel about love, hope, loss and, ultimately, courage.

What I liked:

This book is gripping, I simply couldn’t drop it.

I’ve always been weirdly fascinated with cults, and the idea of cults. Especially, how to come to terms with leaving the cult and rejoining society. This book was an incredible insight into that life. It was completely terrifying, though, to see it happen to children. It was a great look too at the effects of life when you’ve left a cult.

This book dealt with many topics, abandonment and bereavement among them, and they’re all dealt with fantastically. The amount of research that went into this book is clear, and it really works.

Watching Moonbeam grow from a timid young girl to a stronger woman was amazing. She was incredibly well written, and a strong favourite for my favourite character of this year.

What I didn’t like:

There were quite a few really long sentences at the beginning of this book, which made it a bit of a slow starter. Once I moved past these, it was much smoother sailing, and I really was hooked.

Out of five:

Four. I was totally hooked by this book, and despite its intense subject matter it was completely enthralling. Although, I would recommend this book for older readers as there are quite a lot of mature themes here.

4 thoughts on “Review: After the Fire by Will Hill

  1. I haven’t read many books on cults…I can’t think of even reading one, actually. But this book sounds cool even so. I LOVE it when it’s obvious an author did their research. It always shows in their book and provides a better reading experience. The instagram pic you have up is awesome!

Leave a comment and make me smile

