Review: The Last Piece of my Heart by Paige Toon

Challenge criteria: A book about books or reading.

(Disclaimer: I was sent this book by the publishers, Simon and Schuster, in exchange for an honest review. This has not affected my opinion of the book, nor the outcome of this review.)

Blurb:

Meet Bridget, a successful travel journalist with ambitions to turn her quirky relationship blog into a novel.

But, after numerous rejections from publishers, she accepts an alternative proposition: Nicole Dupre died leaving behind a bestselling novel and an incomplete sequel, and the family need someone to finish it. Bridget is just thankful to have her foot in the publishing door. But as she gets to know Nicole’s grieving family, and the woman behind the writing, Bridget’s priorities begin to change. . .

What I liked:

I loved that there was a part of the book set in Ireland, and what made it even better was that it wasn’t set in Dublin. Kerry is a beautiful part of Ireland and it needs to be brought to the fore a little more. This part of the book was so well researched, even down to Muckross being on the N71.

I also loved the part in Thailand, as Bridget travelled to research and finish Nicole’s book.

I thought Charlie was a little bit of a cotton wool parent, but given the circumstances I think you could expect that.

What I didn’t like:

There were a couple of relationships in this book I didn’t like. I wasn’t so keen on Elliot, as I felt he was quite overbearing even though he was 11,000 km away. I wasn’t best pleased with Kate or Valerie.

Out of five:

Four. A really enjoyable and light-hearted read, though some readers familiar with chick lit will find some parts a little predictable.

One thought on “Review: The Last Piece of my Heart by Paige Toon

Leave a comment and make me smile

