Tag Thursday: I Dare You Tag

Thanks so much to Bookmurmation for this tag. I’ve seen it floating around a few times, but I’ve never actually taken it myself. Now seems like the perfect time,

The rules are:

  • You must be honest
  • You can’t not answer a question
  • You have to tag at least four people


1. What book has been on your shelf the longest?

There are some books that have been on my shelf since before I can remember. They’ve been there so long, I can’t even remember how I got them. If I had to guess, I’d imagine The Kite Rider by Geraldine McCaughrean has been there the longest. I’ve had it since I went to Australia when I was 12. Which is now 13 years ago.

2. What is your current read, your last read, and the book you’ll read next?

My current read is Blood Sisters by Jane Corry, which is due out next month. My last read was the sixth book in the Princess Diaries series by Meg Cabot. I’ll be honest though, I have no idea what my next read is going to be. I very rarely plan out my reading, and I think it’s something I should really start.

3. What book did everyone like, but you hated?

I could be here forever talking about books I felt differently about than other people, but one that sticks out is The Sun is Also a Star by Nicola Yoon. I hated the insta-love aspect of it, and it really put me off the book.

4. What book do you keep telling yourself you’ll read, but you probably won’t?

I still need to finish the Narnia series. I have no  idea when I’ll ever get around to it, but I will one day. Hopefully.

5. What book are you saving for retirement?

I don’t really have a book I’m saving for retirement. Anything I’m planning to read, I’d probably read whenever I wanted to.

6. Last page: read it first, or wait ’til the end?

Wait until the end. The only reason I’d read the last page is to find out how many pages there are to read.

Image via Pinterest

7. Acknowledgement: waste of paper and ink, or interesting aside?

I always read the acknowledgements. There are far more people who make a book than just the name(s) on the front cover, so I think it’s always nice to give them a little shout out for their efforts.

8. Which book character would you switch places with?

Mia Thermopolis. I don’t think I could take all the teenage drama, so she can bring that with her. But, I’d love to be the heir to the throne of a southern Europe country. If nothing else, the weather would be far better.

9. Do you have a book that reminds you of something specific in your life? (Place, time, person?)

The BFG by Roald Dahl will always remind me of reading with my Dad before I went to sleep.

10. Name a book that you acquired in an interesting way.

I picked up a copy of How to be Popular by Meg Cabot in a train station just outside London last year (it wasn’t an Underground). I can genuinely pick up a book anywhere.

11. Have you ever given a book away for a special reason to a special person?

I’ve got a little group of pocked friends and we send each other books to read together. It’s a really cute way to share books and also keep together.

12. Which book has been with you most places?

I don’t think there’s one book that’s been the most places with me.

13. Any “required reading” you hated in high school that wasn’t so bad two years later?

I actually haven’t read any of the books I studied in school since I left.

14. Used or brand new?

I’m not fussy, I can take both for their respective merits.

15. Have you ever read a Dan Brown book?

No, I’ve never really been interested in them.

16. Have you ever seen a movie you liked more than the book?

It’s not necessarily answering the question I was asked, but I thought the film of Room was just as good as the book. Perhaps because Emma Donoghue wrote it as a film first, or maybe because she worked extensively on the film. Whatever the reason, it’s a triumph.

17. Have you ever read a book that’s made you hungry, cookbooks included?

Saving Grace by Jane Green has some fantastic recipes included, and reading it did make my mouth water intensely.

18. Who is the person whose book advice you’ll always take?

That would be the Honeyz – Rachel, Cora, Kelly and Steph. These ladies have never failed me before.

19. Is there a book out of your comfort zone (eg outside your usual reading genre) that you ended up loving?

Here’s where I lose a lot of points, I don’t read out of my comfort zone very often. I’m a creature of comfort, what can I say. That said, I don’t read a lot of mystery thrillers and any time I have I’ve been really pleasantly surprised.

5 thoughts on “Tag Thursday: I Dare You Tag

  1. Lovely answers, Aoife. I’ve had The Kite Rider on my TBR a long time, too. I love McCaughrean – The Positivley Last Performance and Stop the Train are my favourites so far. Also used to dream of being Mia, but not sure I could handle Grandmere! Only read the first three. Finishing the series might be a nice summer read.

Leave a comment and make me smile

