Review: Trouble by Non Pratt

Challenge criteria: A book that’s been on your TBR for way too long.

Blurb:

When the entire high school finds out that Hannah Shepard is pregnant via her ex-best friend, she has a full-on meltdown in her backyard. The one witness (besides the rest of the world): Aaron Tyler, a transfer student and the only boy who doesn’t seem to want to get into Hannah’s pants.

Confused and scared, Hannah needs someone to be on her side. Wishing to make up for his own past mistakes, Aaron does the unthinkable and offers to pretend to be the father of Hannah’s unborn baby. Even more unbelievable, Hannah hears herself saying “yes.”

Told in alternating perspectives between Hannah and Aaron, Trouble is the story of two teenagers helping each other to move forward in the wake of tragedy and devastating choices. As you read about their year of loss, regret, and hope, you’ll remember your first, real best friend—and how they were like a first love.

Image via Goodreads

Image via Goodreads

What I liked:

The book doesn’t romanticise teen pregnancy, nor does it condemn it. It’s merely a realistic view of what life as an expectant teen mother is. It’s also not idealistic of the lives of modern teens – they lie, they sit exams, they fall in love. They’re reckless.

I loved the friendship between Hannah and Aaron. There was never any hint of a romance between the two, and that was my favourite part of their relationship. On a converse note, I very much enjoy seeing characters get their comeuppance, and Katie’s fall from grace was a spectacle to behold. I loved it, and I only wish the same fate befell those who were mean to me in school.

The book is a dual narrative, but there is never any confusion as to who is speaking, and the two voices fit together perfectly.

Also, the cover (in all its guises) is spectacular. I had the UK version and I loved it, I thought it fit perfectly with the story itself.

What I didn’t like:

I was not a fan of the real identity of the father and thought that aspect a little out of the ordinary.

Out of five?:

Four. Despite my protestations over the baby daddy, I was so pleased with this book.

Leave a comment and make me smile

