Tag Thursday: The Book Bloggers Insider Tag

Big ups once again to Kelly for tagging me. If you’re not already familiar with her blog, A) what have you been doing with yourself, and B) get that sorted out pronto.

The rules of this tag are:

The Questions 

1. Where do you typically write your blog posts? 

I usually write at my desk in my bedroom, though it’s a little bit of a dark and slightly clustered space at the moment. I really need to get to IKEA and get a new lamp for my writing corner.

2.  How long does it generally take you to write a book review? 

It’s actually a pretty long process for me. I schedule the post and get the skeleton of it ready on the day I first pick up the book, so I know when I have to work toward. Then I get reading, and I take down my thoughts in my reading journal. When I’ve got the book finished, I’ll finish up my review, and finally put in the post tags (that’s how I keep a track of what’s finished and what needs to be written.)

3. When did you start your book blog?  

I’ve actually been blogging since 2012, but I only started as a book blog in late 2015. So coming up on two years as a book blogger, but this little corner of the internet has been here for five years.

4. What is the worst thing about having a book blog in your opinion ?

The book envy. Seeing someone else reading a great book that you don’t own yet, or someone who’s reading your favourite book for the first time, is enough to warrant a visit from the green-eyed monster.

5. What the best thing about having a book blog in your opinion ?  

Definitely finding other bookworms. Since I started book blogging I’ve met, and became friends with, some really amazing people I would never have known otherwise.

6. What blog post have you had the most fun writing so far?

Oooh. Tough one. I guess any one of my ranting posts. I don’t know if it’s come across here, but I like to give out every once in a while.

7. What is your favourite blog post to write?

I love reviews, but I also really love recommendation posts where I get to name loads of fantastic books under categories that you should read.

8. When do you typically write? 

Whenever the mood/inspiration strike, really. I don’t have a set timetable at the moment.

9. Do you review every book you read?

Yes and no. I’ll always review it on Goodreads, whether that means putting just a star rating or adding on a little paragraph of thoughts. But, not every book I read goes on the blog. Which kind of defeats the purpose of having a book blog in the first place. . .

10. How do you write your reviews? With a cup of coffee or tea? With Netflix? Cuddled with your fur baby? 

I usually have tea or coffee beside me, and music playing or a film/TV show in the top right corner of my laptop screen. I wrote my MA dissertation like that, and despite what you might think it really helped me focus rather than provided a distraction – “by the time this episode is over I want to have X amount of words/posts written.”

11. When do you write your reviews? Right after finishing the book? Or two weeks after finishing the book? 

I wish it was right after I’ve read the book, but usually it’s a little while later. Often anything up to a month. If it weren’t for my reading journal, I’d almost have the book forgotten by then.

12. How often do you post?

I don’t have a set day for reviews, a set day for discussions, anything like that (except for Tag Thursdays. I forget where I was going with this.) I kind of just space out my posts with two or three days in between them.

Leave a comment and make me smile

