Beat the Backlist Challenge: Lent Edition

I am a very lapsed Catholic, in the way that I am genuinely surprised I don’t spontaneously combust when I attend my annual Christmas service. This year though, in an effort to save some dough I decided to not buy any books for the duration of Lent. Six weeks with no book buying. It wasn’t going to come easy.

I’ve often heard of the Beat the Backlist challenge, but never actually taken part in it. With a book ban on the cards, there was no better time to start cracking into some books I’ve already bought and get a few mini reviews done, as well as climbing further up my reading challenge this year. These mini reviews will be no longer than 50 words each, so time to get working on my condensing skills.

Windfall by Jennifer E. Smith
OK, not off to a great start on the mini review idea – I’ve got a full review coming. But, I did enjoy this book quite a lot. It deals with some difficult topics splendidly. However, I wasn’t a big fan of Theo, and much rathered Alice.

☆☆☆

History Is All You Left Me by Adam Silvera

Cheating yet again (I told you I was a bad Catholic.) This wasn’t in my longterm TBR pile – it’s a book chosen for my monthly book club in Dublin. A very realistic portrayal of OCD

☆☆☆☆

The Time Travellers Wife by Audrey Niffenegger

This book very much seems to be marmite – I’ve heard people singing it’s praises, and I’ve heard people damning it. I was the latter category unfortunately. I couldn’t find myself getting into this book no matter what I did, and I abandoned it at page 300.

☆☆

Under Rose Tinted Skies by Louise Gornall

One thing I loved about this book was the incredibly descriptive writing, Louise is fantastic at painting vivid images. That can’t have been an easy task when your setting is confined to the protagonist’s house. However, I wasn’t rooting for a romance. It simply wasn’t the right time.

☆☆☆☆

The Princess Diaries: Mia Goes Fourth by Meg Cabot

The fourth book of the series is still very much pop culture heavy. The advice Mia gathers from Jane Eyre (if you completely ignore your boyfriend he will love you more) is a bit off. Communication is a big problem in Mia and Michael’s relationship.

☆☆☆

The Princess Diaries: Give me Five by Meg Cabot

This book had always been one of my least favourites from the series. I hated Lilly in this one, as she seemed really entitled and a little clueless. Mia herself also starts to become a little insufferable. Tina and Boris was definitely a saving grace though.

☆☆☆

The Other Us by Fiona Harper

This book, out in May, is a little like Big, but in reverse. It’s got a great feel-good ending, and an intriguing concept. But, there were quite a lot of clichés in this book, and they did make my eyes roll a bit.

☆☆☆
The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas

It took me quite a while to come up with the words for how much I loved this book. It’s an incredible story. It’s a necessary story. It’s a harrowing story. And it’s one every single person needs to read.

☆☆☆☆☆

5 thoughts on “Beat the Backlist Challenge: Lent Edition

Leave a comment and make me smile

