Review: The State of Grace by Rachael Lucas

Challenge criteria: A book recommended by an author you love

Blurb:

Sometimes I feel like everyone else was handed a copy of the rules for life and mine got lost.

Grace has Asperger’s and her own way of looking at the world. She’s got a horse and a best friend who understand her, and that’s pretty much all she needs. But when Grace kisses Gabe and things start to change at home, the world doesn’t make much sense to her any more.

Suddenly everything threatens to fall apart, and it’s up to Grace to fix it on her own.

Image via Goodreads

What I liked:

This book may be a short and very sweet story, but I was completely gripped. I just couldn’t put it down. Grace’s inner monologue (as well as some of her outbursts) is absolutely hilarious, and I loved her.

I loved so many aspects of this book. It was so great to see Aspergers represented so well in fiction, which may be a big thing for readers who also have Aspergers themselves. You really get a look at Grace’s life and who she really is.

I’ve only read one other book with a character who has Aspergers (yes, it was The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night Time) and it was so long ago, I don’t even remember what kind of impact it had on me. This one, I will definitely remember for a long time.

Anna and Grace’s friendship is one of the strongest I’ve seen in YA in a long time. As well as that, Grace’s relationship with her horse Mabel is truly something special. It will really speak to animal lovers worldwide.

What I didn’t like:

I usually love mothers in YA, but here, Grace’s Mam wasn’t among my highlights. She was quite flighty and irresponsible, and I wouldn’t exactly wish for her as my mother.

Out of five:

Four. This is a fantastic book that I honestly wished never ended.

4 thoughts on “Review: The State of Grace by Rachael Lucas

Leave a comment and make me smile

