Review: The Mills and Boon Guide to Turning into Your Mother by Ada Adverse

Challenge criteria: A book with pictures

(Disclaimer: I was sent this book by the publishers, Mills and Boon, in exchange for an honest review. This has not affected my opinion of the book, nor the outcome of this review.)

Blurb:

Have you ever…?
A) Opened your mouth and heard your mother come out?

B) Wondered whether a bunch of flowers and breakfast in bed once a year really makes up for the 37 hours your mum spent in St Agnes’ Maternity Ward?

C) Voiced a heartfelt opinion on the weather?

If so, the Mills & Boon Modern Girl’s Guide to Turning Into Your Mother is for you: a guide to the joys of motherhood – with a feminist twist.

What I liked:

This book is hilarious. It’s one every mother and every daughter need to read, and I will most definitely be offering it to my Mam, my aunts, my cousins – pretty much anyone who will listen to me.

The old style pictures on the left hand page only serve to add to the already perfect to descriptions.

You don’t even have to be a mother to read this; while some of the scenarios do deal with having children of your own, it’s still great for a giggle.

What I didn’t like: 

I absolutely cannot fault this.

Out of five:

Definitely a five. If you liked the updated Five Go . . . series, this needs to be on your bookshelf.

6 thoughts on “Review: The Mills and Boon Guide to Turning into Your Mother by Ada Adverse

    • I can’t even pick! I was reading some out to my brother and we both thought they were hilarious. I loved the breakfast in bed one and the one about a missing rabbit teddy – that’s a story from my house!

Leave a comment and make me smile

