Review: If I Was Your Girl by Meredith Russo

Challenge criteria: A book by an #ownvoices or #diversebooks author

Blurb:

Amanda Hardy is the new girl at school.

Like everyone else, all she wants is to make friends and fit in. But Amanda is holding back. Even from Grant, the guy she’s falling in love with.

Amanda has a secret.

At her old school, she used to be called Andrew. And secrets always have a way of getting out.

A book about loving yourself and being loved for who you really are.

Image via Goodreads

Image via Goodreads

What I liked:

I really enjoyed this book, though it was often a heart wrencher. I really enjoyed the flashbacks to the times before Amanda’s transition, which gave a view on the mentalities and realities of being a transgender teenager. The whole truth of it.

This was the first #ownvoices book I’ve read, and it really sat with me for a long time after.

What I didn’t like:

I felt some of the characters and their actions were a little unrealistic. I thought Grant’s reaction to Amanda’s news would have been much bigger.

Also, the promposal rather turned my stomach.

Out of five:

Four. A heartbreaking read, one that I think parents need to read as much as teens do.

3 thoughts on “Review: If I Was Your Girl by Meredith Russo

Leave a comment and make me smile

