Tag Thursday: The Sims Book Tag

Today’s Tag Thursday is a new thing – I’ve actually been tagged to do it. I have a little gang of internet friends, and Kelly is one of them. She offered up the chance to take the Sims tag recently, and as it deals with two of my favourite things I couldn’t say no.

I’m on a bit of a Sims 2 binge at the moment. My brother downloaded a full expansion pack to my laptop and I’ve been a benevolent god to the Sims in the game since. You can tell I was popular in school, can’t you.

The Original Sims – Best Author Debut

I absolutely adored Wing Jones by Katherine Webber. It’s got something to keep you on your toes with the story the entire way through as you start wishing for a positive outcome. It has a huge cast of incredible characters. It has magical realism. It has running, and it’s made people run. What’s not to love?

Wing Jones

Image via Goodreads

Grim Reaper – Saddest Character Death

There are so many deaths in Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows that there’s no way you can overlook it when you’re answering a question like this. If I was put on the spot, I think the saddest death to come from this book was definitely Hedwig – it signalled the end of Harry’s childhood, and thinking how loyal and helpful she was throughout the series still brings me to tears.

Sims Getting Stuck – A Character That Got In The Way

I really hated Heather in Wing Jones. She was a horrid character, a despicable person, and I couldn’t see why she was necessarily written the way she was. Most of the time, the book flowed perfectly without her.

Simlish – A Book With Amazing Writing

I loved the writing style of Where Rainbows End by Cecelia Ahern (American readers/film fans may better recognise it by the title Love Rosie). It was written in the form of letters and emails the main characters Alex and Rosie had sent each other. At the time I’d read it, I had never read nor heard of another book that was written in such a way, and I really loved it.

Expansion Packs – A Series Where the Books Keep Getting Better

I think The Princess Diaries really developed as the books continued on. Mia lost some of her immaturity, and there were plenty of hooks and twists to keep you intrigued. Can you believe Meg Cabot almost wanted to finish the series after book three? A Genovian national disaster.

orca-image-1486642562094.jpg_1486642571025.jpeg

Sims Romance – The Worst Case of Insta-Love

If there was one case of insta-love that I really hated, it’s The Sun is Also a Star by Nicola Yoon. I really didn’t like that element of the book, and I felt like a lot of the story was completely unrealistic. It wasn’t in any way reflective of the teenage romances I know, or any other that I’ve read. Daniel and Natasha were fine characters by themselves, but some of their scenes and actions together raised an eyebrow.

Cheats – A Book That Was Entirely Unrealistic

I really didn’t enjoy Virgin by Radhika Sanghani. I felt like the characters were all wrong, the reactions to quite serious issues were off, and I just couldn’t warm to the story at all. I wasn’t a fan at all. It was billed as Bridget Jones for a teenage audience but I think I’ll stick with the adult heroine.

Needs Fulfilment – A Character Who Made All the Wrong Decisions

Severus Snape. You know well he could have left his problems with James Potter and his grief over Lily at the door and don’t you dare tell me I’m wrong.

Error Code 12 – A Series That Started Off Great But Went Downhill

About a year ago, I started reading Divergent. I was halfway through Insurgent when I left it behind me on a bus, never to be seen again. I haven’t picked it up since, and I haven’t exactly been missing it.

The Sims Vortex – A Book/Series That Completely Engrossed You

If a book really captures me, I will spend every waking moment with it in my hands. I was completely taken by Small Great Things by Jodi Picoult, and I even read it while walking to work in the mornings. I love Jodi’s work, but this was incredible.

2 thoughts on “Tag Thursday: The Sims Book Tag

  1. I really want to read Wing Jones. I’ve heard such good things about it.
    Lol I’m going to slightly disagree with you about Snape though. I agree that he needed to get over his beef with James Potter. There’s no excuse for him to bully Harry for that. However his strong feelings for Lily was needed because that’s why he chose to work with Dumbledore. I pity the dude. He’s horrible and had a horrible life and doesn’t know how to be good to those who’re kind to him.

Leave a comment and make me smile

