Belfast Haul

At the end of February, I decided to break up a couple of days in Dublin by heading north on the M1 and taking a visit to Belfast.

My trip came the day after Storm Doris hit Ireland, so I had a two hour train delay before I could even hit Belfast. Luckily, I had a book with me to keep me sane, and dreams of visiting one of Northern Ireland’s most famous attractions.

I’ve been low key obsessed with the Titanic since I was young, so visiting the museum in Belfast was top of my to do list for the day. I travelled around the self-guided tour myself, taking in the sights and marvelling at being able to stand and look out to the spot where the ship herself launched in 1911. My inner nerd was well and truly fed.

Titanic launched from the left, while sister ship Olympic launched from the right.

When the tour was over, I headed into Belfast city centre to kill time until my train back to Dublin. I only had £60 to spend, including lunch and dinner, so I couldn’t come home with too much. Or so I thought.
My first stop was Easons, which I admit I wasn’t expecting to see in the north. Easons is an Irish book shop, and I had my thoughts on one thing – stationery. Instead, I left with something else.

Sinéad gave an interview on the radio which I listened to in the car on my way to the train station, and I was massively intrigued by the idea of this book. It’s the story of Kate and her three children, one of whom is diagnosed with cancer. Kate is faced with some difficult choices – one a mother should never have to make.

Not only did my ears prick up at this, it seems my Mam was interested in it too. Maybe I can finally make a reader of her?

Books bought and paid for (and at £6, I really had no option but to buy it), I headed to my next appointment: Paperchase. We have Paperchase in Ireland, but it’s only in Dublin. Whenever I’m cross border or in the fair city (which isn’t often these days) my bank account takes a serious hit.

Yes that is 13 packs of stickers. Unicorns, cats and pandas (oh my). I’ve decided to use the stickers in my reading journal as an indication as to how much I enjoyed the book. I can’t imagine what I’m going to do when I give a half star rating.

I was just about to leave the shop when I noticed this beautiful hand crafted journal. The feather was what really struck me about the cover, and though I didn’t necessarily need a new journal, I bought it anyway because I have no self control.

I also saw this gorgeous marble effect daily planner in Urban Outfitters, but I left it behind me because I didn’t feel it was one I needed. That was probably not my smartest move, because looking at the picture now I have serious lust for it.

8 thoughts on “Belfast Haul

Leave a comment and make me smile

