Author Spotlight: Jodi Picoult

Jodi Picoult has been writing for years, and though her books often follow the same format (there’s usually a court case somewhere in there), I’ve been hooked on every single one.

I don’t think I’ve even scratched the surface of Jodi’s back catalogue (her most recent novel Small Great Things is her 23rd), but I’ve loved those that I have read. I don’t even think I could pick a favourite. In fact, I think it’s time for a re-read, and I’ve still got some on my bookshelf waiting for me to explore.

The Pact

Chris and Emily have known each other since birth, and they’re inseparable. They shared Chinese food after school, they had chicken pox at the same time, and their parents car pooled to school together. It was inevitable they would fall in love when they got older.

One night, Emily’s parents get the phone call every parent dreads. Emily is dead at 17 from a gunshot wound to the head. Chris swears it was a murder-suicide pact, but he’s still alive.

Small Great Things

Ruth has been a labour and delivery nurse for 20 years, and is one of the most respected L&D nurses at her hospital. During her shift, she begins a routine check up on a newborn infant, only to be told that the child’s parents are white supremacists and that she is forbidden from caring for this child. When the baby goes into cardiac arrest and Ruth is the only nurse available, it triggers a dirty court case that will bring out some surprise twists for everyone involved.

My Sister’s Keeper

This is probably Jodi’s most famous work, and barely needs an introduction. Anna has never been sick throughout her life, but the sheer volume of surgeries and treatments she’s had to help save her sister’s life would make you think otherwise. At the age of 13, Anna decides she has had enough, and strikes for medical emancipation.

Plain Truth

Katie, a young Amish teenager, has given birth in secret. But when the infant’s body is found, Katie denies ever being pregnant. It’s up to Ellie, an urban lawyer whose distant relatives are Amish, to get to the bottom of the case. She learns first hand the differences between English life and the simple living Amish.

I read this book at a time I was big into Amish culture, and it’s a real eye opener.

 

Handle with Care

Forget My Sister’s Keeper, this is probably the saddest book in Jodi’s arsenal.

Willow was born with brittle bone disease, meaning the smallest of movements can shatter her tiny body. When Willow breaks a bone in a fall at Disneyland, the park and the hospital threaten to sue her parents for negligence. But,Willow’s mother Charlotte instead brings a case against the OB/GYN who she attended before Willow was born.  If Charlotte had known Willow would be born with this disease, she would have had the option to abort. The problem is that Charlotte’s OB/GYN was her best friend Piper.

15 thoughts on “Author Spotlight: Jodi Picoult

  1. Picture Perfect has been on my TBR for a year, I keep hearing about the author and I’m dying to read it so, fingers crossed I’ll get the chance soon!

  2. Recently read My Sister’s Keeper – my first Picoult! Certainly wouldn’t say it’s faultless but amazingly confident, clear brushstrokes there, particularly with the dialogue. Enjoyed it immensely.

Leave a comment and make me smile

