Review: Wing Jones by Katherine Webber

Challenge criteria: A book with a reputation for being unputdownable.

Blurb:

Jandy Nelson meets Friday Night Lights: a sweeping story about love and family from an exceptional new voice in YA. With a grandmother from China and another from Ghana, fifteen-year-old Wing Jones is often caught between worlds.

But when tragedy strikes, Wing discovers a talent for running she never knew she had. Wing’s speed could bring her family everything it needs. It could also stop Wing getting the one thing she wants.

Image via Goodreads

Image via Goodreads

What I liked:

Usually, when a book is pretty hyped it can make me a little anxious about reading it. Luckily, this book more than delivered. I was hooked right from the very first minute.

Katherine is a fantastic writer. The descriptions in this book are stunning, and it’s so easy to picture yourself right in the centre of the action when you’re reading along.

Wing Jones is incredibly inclusive – the main characters are POC, one of the characters is questioning their sexuality, and there are instances of grief, bullying, guilt and poverty in this book.

Also. Can we talk about the sprayed edges? How beautiful is this book.

What I didn’t like:

It took me a while to warm to the “lioness” and “dragon” metaphors. I understand they represented Wing’s grandmother’s, but I did think they were maybe a little too personified.

If there’s one thing that gets me fired up, it’s bullying. Heather was unlike someone I’ve ever seen written about, and I absolutely despised her. She vividly reminded me of my own lonely days in secondary school.

Out of five?:

Five. I was hooked right from the start, just like they said I would be.

One thought on “Review: Wing Jones by Katherine Webber

Leave a comment and make me smile

