My Bookish Valentine

Today is one of the most loved up days in the calendar, so what better time to pick through some of my favourite book crushes? If these people were real, I would definitely be standing at their front door this evening ready for our first date.

Joe – Candy by Kevin Brooks

You can tell that the relationship between Joe and Candy was Joe’s first. He was determined to help her through all of her troubles, and I really don’t think there was anyone in the world better for Candy. Their relationship problems may not have been the same as those faced by most teenage couples, but there was still the glimmer of hope for them, and I spent the whole book rooting for them.

Gerry – PS I Love You by Cecelia Ahern

Gerry is the very epitome of romantic husband, and though I’m very cynical I can’t say I wouldn’t love if my husband left me some notes to remember him after he passed away and to help me to pull through my grief. If losing two cats has taught me anything, it’s that having a memory and having little reminders of them around is the most important thing, and that it will absolutely tear my heart in two to lose the person I’ve planned to spend my life with.

Oli – Am I Normal Yet? by Holly Bourne

Oli and Evie aren’t very quick to get together, but the best part of their relationship is how willing they are to help each other through each other’s mental health issues. Oli has anxiety, while Evie suffers from OCD. Oli sees past all of this and helps Evie to settle herself and really come out of her shell – while still remaining the same Evie she was at the beginning of the book. Oli was a much better fit than any of the other suitors in the book.

Park – Eleanor and Park by Rainbow Rowell

If Gerry is a supportive husband, then Park is the dream boyfriend. He might have his own family nightmares, and he may not fully understand what’s going on in Eleanor’s life, but he willingly drops everything to be with her.  He’s even willing to offer her sanctuary from her nightmare stepfather in one of the sweetest ways I have ever seen.

Aaron – Trouble by Non Pratt

If you find a guy who’s willing to lie for you and put his reputation on the line just to save you, then you’ve found a pretty decent guy. And when Aaron was ok with standing in as the father of Hannah’s baby, it made me think that maybe yes, there are some decent guys in the world. They just don’t exist.

Michael – The Princess Diaries by Meg Cabot

I shipped Mia and Michael so hard before even knowing what shipping was. Michael was Mia’s long standing love interest, and you could tell right from their first interaction that these two were meant to be. He was helpful to her and pushing for her to succeed, offering extra Algebra tutelage to her during class together. And, the best part of all, he wrote her a song. If that’s not the kind of guy you want to end up with, I’ve failed you.

Have I missed someone? Let me know who your bookish Valentine is.

3 thoughts on “My Bookish Valentine

Leave a comment and make me smile

