Review: Lyrebird by Cecilia Ahern

Challenge criteria: A book recommended by someone with great taste. (This book was one of the options for January for the Rick O Shea Book Club.)

Blurb:

Life is in two parts: who you were before you met her, and who you are after.

A documentary crew discover a mysterious young women living alone in the mountains of West Cork. Strikingly beautiful she has an extraordinary talent for mimicry, like the famous Australian Lyrebird. The crew, fascinated, make her the subject of her story, and bestow the nickname upon her.

When they leave, they take Lyrebird with them back to the city. But as she leaves behind her peaceful life to learn about a new world, is she also leaving behind a part of herself? For her new friend Solomon the answer isn’t clear. When you find a rare and precious thing, should you share it – or protect it…

Image via Cecelia Ahern

Image via Cecelia Ahern

What I liked:

This was the first Cecelia Ahern book I’ve read in a while, as I felt she had lost it for a while. I really felt this was a return to form, though. I really enjoyed this one.

It was a terrifyingly real look at the reality of a life in front of the camera, and a life behind it.

What I didn’t like:

There were a couple of scenes that made me a little uncomfortable while reading them – such as Laura overhearing Solomon and Bo. Did make for a difficult passage.

Laura sometimes annoyed me, and I really didn’t like Bo very much.

I felt a little like there was an aspect of instalove between Solomon and Laura and that isn’t something I really dig in books.

Out of five:

Three. A return to form for Cecelia, but some parts of it did let it down for me.

4 thoughts on “Review: Lyrebird by Cecilia Ahern

  1. Sorry you didn’t enjoy this as much as you could have 😦 I personally LOVE Ahern’s books, but I haven’t read this one yet.
    I highly recommend How To Fall In Love and P.S. I Love You, in case you’re willing to try her again. Those are my favourite books of hers 🙂
    Great review!

    • I’ve already read PS I Love You, back when it first came out. Where Rainbows End is one of my favourites of hers. I think I’ve also read How to Fall In Love! Thanks for commenting.

  2. Pingback: My Life In Books Tag – Painfully Fictional

  3. The only Cecelia Ahern book I’ve read is Flawed, which I LOVED SO MUCH. I can’t wait to read the sequel. I know Flawed is very different to her other books though. I have Lyrebird and I really need to read it!

Leave a comment and make me smile

