Blog Tour: The Good Enough Mother by Anoushka Beazley

Challenge criteria: A book with a family member in the title.

Disclaimer: I was sent a copy of this book for review from the publisher as part of a blog tour run by Neverland Blog Tours. This has in no way affected my thoughts on the book, nor the outcome of this review.

Blurb:

Gatlin – a leafy, affluent town: Chelsea tractors and ladies who lunch. However, all is not as it seems. Drea, a most unnatural mother, struggles to find private school fees for her step-daughter Ava after her boyfriend leaves her for another woman.

Watching the yummy mummies she becomes inspired, hatching a daring and criminal plan…unleashing all hell in the quiet town of Gatlin.

Can Drea survive the fallout and the wrath of the PTA? A satirical black comedy about love, motherhod and the human condition.

Image via Neverland Blog Tours

Image via Neverland Blog Tours

What I liked:

This is an incredibly funny read, despite its overwhelming dark nature. Drea’s grandfather’s NSFW habit will have you raise a giggle or two, and the opening quote of the book really sets the tone perfectly.

What I didn’t like:

No matter how hard I tried, I just didn’t warm to Drea, the main character. I found her conceited and judgemental, and there was nothing that turned me toward her.

Out of five?:

Three. It was a very funny read, but I just couldn’t warm to any of the characters.

2 thoughts on “Blog Tour: The Good Enough Mother by Anoushka Beazley

Leave a comment and make me smile

