Review: The Sun is Also a Star by Nicola Yoon

Challenge criteria: A book you chose for the cover.

Blurb:

Natasha: I’m a girl who believes in science and facts. Not fate. Not destiny. Or dreams that will never come true. I’m definitely not the kind of girl who meets a cute boy on a crowded New York City street and falls in love with him. Not when my family is twelve hours away from being deported to Jamaica. Falling in love with him won’t be my story.

Daniel: I’ve always been the good son, the good student, living up to my parents’ high expectations. Never the poet. Or the dreamer. But when I see her, I forget about all that. Something about Natasha makes me think that fate has something much more extraordinary in store—for both of us.

The Universe: Every moment in our lives has brought us to this single moment. A million futures lie before us. Which one will come true?

Image via Goodreads

Image via Goodreads

What I liked:

I loved how inclusive this book was, it dealt with immigration issues and featured two POC main characters. I don’t think I’ve ever read a book with two main characters who were both POC.

Also, the cover is a work of art. Like Everything Everything, the cover is absolutely breath taking.

What I didn’t like:

I felt this book was completely unrealistic. I couldn’t believe Natasha and Daniel went from strangers to “we are meant to be” in the space of about four hours. It was a completely unbelievable plot. I have never read a book with such a high (and somewhat offensive) level of instant love. Far too sickly sweet to be in any way credible.

Why does one of the biggest third level institutions in America not have an admission board, and instead acceptance or refusal is decided upon by interview with an alumnus of said college?

I really didn’t like Daniel telling Natasha news that she really should have heard from elsewhere. Boy, you really need to learn your place.

There was a lot of input on the views and thoughts of minor characters, who appear once and then never are seen again, which I think the book could really have done without.

Out of five:

Two. I really wish I’d enjoyed this book, as I’d heard some really good things about it, but alas we weren’t to be.

5 thoughts on “Review: The Sun is Also a Star by Nicola Yoon

Leave a comment and make me smile

