Tag Thursday: The End of Year Book Tag

When I was originally tagged to do this by Emma, it was August and a lot sooner to the middle of the year time frame for which the tag was originally intended. For now, it’s come to the end of 2016 and I still haven’t taken the tag. With a little sneaky title change, that’s easy to overcome, and it became the End of Year Book Tag, perfect for 2017.

Best book you’ve read in 2016

I really don’t think I could narrow it down to just one book this year. I loved so many books, it really is hard to choose just one. Instead, I chose 12.

Best sequel you’ve read in 2016

I read all three books of the Spinster Club trilogy this year, and the novella ending. I adored all of them and lapped them up in hours.

New release you haven’t read yet, but want to

I loved Ruth Gilligan when I was a teen, and I was so excited to hear she was bringing out a new book last year. I downloaded Nine Folds Make a Paper Swan to my brand new Kindle at Christmas, and I cannot wait to start it.

Biggest disappointment

I really wish I’d enjoyed The Sun is Also a Star, but I just couldn’t warm to it. Perhaps I’m too cynical.

Biggest surprise

I love Shappi Khorsandi as a comedian, so when I heard her debut YA book wouldn’t be particularly funny I was a bit nervous. I need not have worried; Nina Is Not OK is a compelling read that everyone must pick up. Especially those with young children.

Favourite new author (debut or new to you)

As soon as I read Isabelle Broom‘s stunning debut I was hooked. I knew this author was something special. Isabelle’s books give you such strong feelings of wanderlust, you won’t be long reaching for your card to book your next trip.

Newest fictional crush

I completely fell in love with Aled from Radio Silence. He was a sweetheart, focused, and a great friend to Fran.

Newest favourite character

I really liked Nina from Shappi Khorsandi’s Nina is Not OK. I don’t think you were supposed to like her, but she was very complex and a perfect teenage main character.

Book that made you cry

Now, I don’t often cry at books. The last one that had the honour was The Book Thief. However, One by Sarah Crossan destroyed me.

Book that made you happy

There were a couple of books that I immensely enjoyed reading, but I think My Map of You by Isabelle Broom was the happiest I’d read in 2016. Sure, there were some downers in it, but overall I did read it with a massive smile on my face – and my passport by my side.

Most beautiful book you bought or received this year

I bought some really stunning books this year, but I couldn’t choose between my favourite two covers.

Look at them. How could you not take those from the shelf and put them straight into your basket?

What books do you need to read by the end of the year?

If I laid out my TBR on the floor and stacked it, it would tower over me. I need to read Nine Folds Make a Paper Swan by Ruth Gilligan and Small Great Things by Jodi Picoult, though. Those two are my immediate reads.

Leave a comment and make me smile

