Review: I Heart Christmas by Lindsey Kelk

Challenge criteria: A book involving travel

Blurb:

Angela’s planning her very own fairytale of New York…

• Enormous Christmas tree
• Eggnog
• Eccentric British traditions
• Gorgeous man


But Santa’s throwing her a few curveballs – new job (as if it’s not mental enough already), new baby-craze from her best friend Jenny, and Alex determined they should grow up and settle down. Once friends start turning up uninvited on her doorstep (and leading her astray), can Angela really have a merry little Christmas? So much for happy holidays – something’s got to give…

Image via Goodreads

Image via Goodreads

What I liked:

Continuing with my utter rejection of linearity, this book was the sixth in the I Heart … series, but the first I had read. This never posed any problems, as it worked just fine as a stand alone novel.

I loved the story of Angela’s new job – I work in the same field, and it was so exciting to see the story of a woman who climbed from entry level intern to managing the magazine. I loved seeing how she handled it all – and wondering how I would cope in the same position.

What I didn’t like:

I felt like some of the storylines, such as Angela’s mother’s hissy fit when Angela was a little iffy about them coming to visit unannounced. I know from experience that a visitor takes a lot of preparation, and a lot of energy.

I also couldn’t take a character called Jenny Lopez seriously.

Out of five:

Three stars. I loved the story, but some of the odd characters and storylines let me down a little. That said, I will definitely be checking out the first five of the series to see what I’ve missed.

2 thoughts on “Review: I Heart Christmas by Lindsey Kelk

  1. This was the first I Heart book I read and I understand why you gave it three stars, but trust me once you read the first books you will love it. You don’t have to read them too much in order but it does add a lot more to the series.

    • I think I just came to the series at the wrong time – sometimes my weird habit of reading a series out of synch can come back to bite. I will definitely be going to the first five though!

Leave a comment and make me smile

