Review: Eleanor and Park by Rainbow Rowell

Challenge criteria: A book you’ve already read at least once.

Blurb: 

Two misfits.
One extraordinary love.


Eleanor… Red hair, wrong clothes. Standing behind him until he turns his head. Lying beside him until he wakes up. Making everyone else seem drabber and flatter and never good enough…Eleanor.

Park… He knows she’ll love a song before he plays it for her. He laughs at her jokes before she ever gets to the punch line. There’s a place on his chest, just below his throat, that makes her want to keep promises…Park.

Set over the course of one school year, this is the story of two star-crossed sixteen-year-olds—smart enough to know that first love almost never lasts, but brave and desperate enough to try.

Image via Goodreads

Image via Goodreads

What I liked:

Eleanor and Park was a re-read this year, and it’s one of my favourite books from my 2015 reading.

I love the characters, especially Park’s mother. In my head, I imagine her as a less strict version of Lane Kim’s mother in Gilmore Girls. I loved Eleanor’s relationship with her siblings, the protective nature mixed with the misunderstanding of why they were so accepting of Richie.

Of all my favourite things about this book, Eleanor and Park’s relationship stands out the most. You could tell they were deep in the throes of their first love, and their relationship was the most pure and loving I’ve seen in a lot of books.

What I didn’t like:

There are few book characters I wholly despise, but damnit if Richie isn’t on that list. There was absolutely no way he could have redeemed himself to me – even during Christmas.

Out of five:

Five. One of my favourite books of the last few years, and one I will never grumble about going back to.

2 thoughts on “Review: Eleanor and Park by Rainbow Rowell

  1. I adored this book as well, at times I did think however Eleanor could be very over-sensitive to things but the love between Eleanor & Park was so beautifully written. I listened to it via Audible and Parks Mum was played by either the Male Narrator (If it was in a Park section) or a Female, and both made me laugh out loud. Non-Koreans should not attempt an accent.

    I’m guessing Ritchie hurt the children as well as Eleanors Mum? I was very confused why she couldn’t bath at certain times… I prayed throughout that her Mum would have the strength to leave him😦

    One of my fave books I have ever picked up!

    http://www.hellosaralou.blogspot.com

Leave a comment and make me smile

