Tag Thursday: The Christmas Carol Book Tag

In the lead up to Christmas, the Thursday Tag posts have become a little more frequent. Each week leading up to Christmas Eve, Thursdays are going to be a festive occasion.

Today’s tag is all about Christmas carols, also known as one of the best parts of Christmas. It comes straight from She Latitude.

1. You’re a Mean One, Mr. GrinchName a villainous character you can’t help but love to hate.

Richie from Eleanor and Park by Rainbow Rowell. Every time I read this book I’m thrown further into my hatred for this utter monster.

2. All I Want For Christmas Is You – What book do you most want to find under your Christmas tree this year?

I’ve really got my eye on Non Pratt’s Unboxed and And A Happy New Year by Holly Bourne. If any books could fall off the sleigh for me, it would be those.

Image via Goodreads

Image via Goodreads

3. Rudolph the Red-Nosed Reindeer Name a favorite character that had to overcome a major obstacle.  Why are they your favorite?

Cormoran Strike from The Cuckoo’s Calling. He had some pretty serious stumbling blocks – PTSD and a missing leg from Afghanistan, but that didn’t stop him solving the job at hand.

4. Santa Claus Is Coming To Town Which characters do you think are at the top of Santa’s “nice” and “naughty” list?

I can’t see anyone being higher on the naughty list than Umbridge.

As for the nice list, I think each member of the Spinster Club trilogy sit pretty highly there. Despite some hiccups, I don’t think those girls have a single bad bone in their bodies.

5. Frosty the Snowman What book just melts your heart?

I’m quite a cynical person so it really takes a lot to melt my heart. But, The Art of Being Normal by Lisa Williamson really did touch a heartstring for me.

6. Feliz Navidad Your favourite book that takes place in a country other than you own

Most of the books I’ve read take place outside Ireland so I have a wide range here.

It has to be The Book Thief though. It takes place in Nazi Germany, so it isn’t the most uplifting of stories, but it’s a very firm favourite of mine.

Image via Goodreads

7. It’s the Most Wonderful Time of the Year What book do you read to get in the Christmas spirit?

I read Dickens’ A Christmas Carol every Christmas without fail. It’s one of my favourite classics.

8. Sleigh Ride – What character would you most want to spend the holiday with?

I’d love to spend a Christmas with Georgia Nichols and her family. You might never have a moment’s peace, but it would make for some interesting stories.

9. Baby It’s Cold Outside – What book do you hate so much you’d sacrifice it to the fire to stay warm?

Can I pick three? The 50 Shades trilogy, I would take great pleasure in ripping that book page for page and setting each alight.

10. Do You Hear What I Hear? What book would you recommend to everyone?

Isabelle Broom is a fantastic writer, but I think relatively unknown. Her books should definitely be in stockings this Christmas.

Image via Goodreads

Image via Goodreads

4 thoughts on “Tag Thursday: The Christmas Carol Book Tag

  1. Pingback: The Christmas Carol Book Tag | Ann's Reading Corner

  2. Pingback: Christmas Carol Book Tag! | Drink Coffee and Read books

Leave a comment and make me smile

