Review: The 12 Days of Dash and Lily by David Levithan and Rachel Cohn

This book did not fit any of my challenge criteria.

Blurb:

Dash and Lily have been dating for nearly a year, but when Lily’s beloved grandfather falls ill, the repercussions take their toll on everyone. Even though they are still together, somehow the magic has gone out of their relationship and it’s clear that Lily has fallen out of love with life.

Action must be taken! Dash teams up with Lily’s brother and a host of their friends, who have just twelve days to get Lily’s groove back in time for Christmas.

Image via Goodreads

Image via Goodreads

What I liked:

While this is the second book in the series, I hadn’t read the first. This wasn’t a huge problem though, as I never really felt lost at any point of the story, like I should have known this from the first book.

It’s quite a short book, and its wintry New York setting will have you picture the big tree in the middle of the Rockefeller Centre while you cosy up by the fire.

What I didn’t like:

I felt some chapters changed from first person narrative, which was the usual for this book, to third person narrative, for no reason. It didn’t make a lot of sense.

I didn’t feel like Lily and Dash’s relationship worked. For a couple who have been together for over a year, they seemed very reluctant to talk to each other about their relationship or any other problems they may have been going through. The ending was a little unbelievable too – it made me feel David and Rachel don’t know many 17 year olds.

I’m not a big fan of the trope that “you need a boy to save you”, and this popped up here. I often wanted to hit Dash and Lily over the head with their own book.

Out of five?: 

Three. A really well told story, and would work really well as a stand alone. However, I felt the main characters were a little annoying and immature at times.

Leave a comment and make me smile

