Tag Thursday: The Pokemon Go Book Tag

The tags have returned, and once a month I’ll be answering some bloggish questions from around the Internet. Today it’s the Pokemon Go Book Tag. Even if we’re not playing the game as much anymore, Pokemon is always relevant, and I spent much longer than I should have during the summer walking aimlessly around Cardiff gathering as many Pokemon as I could.

It may have been deleted from my phone for a while, but it’s been a big part of my childhood. This tag came courtesy of Aentee Read at Midnight, and all header images come from her. She created the images herself (as well as the tag itself) and I have to say, they look incredible.

Way back when I was a little girl, I met a fellow young bookworm named Matilda Wormwood and I was hooked. Roald Dahl’s Matilda was the first book I finished solo, and it remains today one of my favourite books, and one very close to my heart.

There have been so many adaptations of Dickens’ A Christmas Carol (my school even put on a play when I was 14), but nothing can beat the original. I read it every Christmas without fail.

There’s very many books I don’t like because they’re everywhere, except for one. I can never get on board with Fifty Shades.

There are a couple of tropes that pop up now and again that I recognise, but at the moment no specific book stands out as dealing with one.

 

I have had The Goldfinch on my shelf with who knows how long, but I’m just nowhere near ready to start it yet. Its size is a little intimidating, even for the most ardent reader. I will tackle it one day, but I think I’ll have to book a week off work to get through it.

My favourite book of all is The Book Thief by Markus Zusak. I borrowed a copy from a friend, and stayed up until 2am one night reading it and crying. It’s phenomenal.

Joe and Candy from Kevin Brook’s Candy. They were a little bit Romeo and Juliet-esque, but I simply loved them together. It may not have worked out all the time but I spent most of my teenage years in their favour.

Isabelle Broom’s first book, My Map of You, is incredibly light and fast. I can’t think of a better beach read,and as it’s set in Greece there’s no better place to read it than the beach anyway.

You could write Harry Potter in the style of The Satanic Verses and I would beat small children to the ground to get to the top of the queue. I refuse to read The Cursed Child until I’ve seen the play though – a script should be enjoyed in its intended form first.

I didn’t go into The Summer of Secrets by Alison Lucy – I’d just finished a pretty heavy book and I wanted to ease myself back into some light reading. Boy, was I mistaken. It was a chick lit mystery thriller and I was gripped by it.

I’ve heard so many good things about the A Court of series, and I know I have to get started on them for 2017. I don’t know if it’s even overhyped, I just know I have to read it. Honorary mention to the Six of Crows series by Leigh Bardugo.

I have a couple of classics that I really love, and I really wish I had some first editions. If anyone has a first edition of Little Women or A Christmas Carol lying around, I will gladly take it off your hands.

It’s already out so I don’t even think that this counts, but I was so excited for Isabelle Broom’s first book. I’ve lauded it to so many people, and it’s one of my favourites from this year.

There are so many authors who could write a version of The Satanic Verses and I would walk over small children to get a copy. This list includes, among many others, Claire Hennessy, Louise O Neill, Holly Bourne, and Rainbow Rowell.

 Louise O Neill is working on a third novel and I swear she’s been working on it for years. Enough already.

One thought on “Tag Thursday: The Pokemon Go Book Tag

Leave a comment and make me smile

