Review: I Knew You Were Trouble by Paige Toon

This book did not fit any of my challenge criteria.

Blurb: Life as the undercover daughter of a rock god isn’t going to be easy. How will Jessie adjust to her old boring life again after spending her summer living it up with her dad in LA? With tough decisions ahead (and not just choosing between two hot boys), can she cope juggling her two very different lives?
Summer may be over, but Jessie’s story is just beginning…

Image via Goodreads

Image via Goodreads

What I liked:

This book was incredibly fast-paced and heart-warmingly funny. Paige Toon is great at writing characters with heart.

I really loved the relationship between Jessie and her step-father Stu.

What I didn’t like:

I can be a little erratic with series, and often read them out of sequence. I was very aware that this was the second book in the series, and because I hadn’t read the first book I felt a little left out with some of the plot lines.

I wasn’t a big fan of Jessie’s decision making at the best of times, from her ease at dealing with Libby to how she treated her relationship with Tom. I often found myself silently arguing with her.

I really didn’t like the ending, and I felt if the book had ended maybe 30 pages sooner, when Jessie and Stu celebrated Christmas, I would have been much happier with this novel.

Out of five?:

Three. I was very aware this was a series book, so I don’t think it would work well as a stand alone. If it had ended a little sooner, maybe I could have even pushed to a four.

Leave a comment and make me smile

